current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2006-03-14 - 8:31 p.m.

So my weird rash from sushi (?) sort of came back. My chin has these weird tiny white bumps on it now. Yuck! I'm also still itchy. What's the deal? I don't know. I think I'll be avoiding sushi.

Of course the kids were bad for the sub, even my good class (apparently, especially my good class--I guess I jinxed myself by mentioning in the note that they are my best ones). I did have a smart move, though, I wrote in the sub note to tell certain kids that I will have a treat for them if the sub does not write them in the sub note. All four of them held it together (these are kids that consistently get written in the sub note for bad behavior). So tomorrow I have to figure out a discreet way of giving them candybars without everyone else freaking out about how they were good too and it's not fair and why don't they get candybars. Try doing that in a middle school. I'll let you know how stealthy I can be. Particularly since one girl is the LOUDEST GIRL IN THE HISTORY OF THE WORLD and already loudly asked for her treat multiple times today.

Anyway, it was good to be back. Today we went to the high school so the kids could get their forecasting sheets. All of the teachers were freaking out because the format of the presentation was...lacking to put it nicely. It will all come together in the end, though, so I'm not going to worry about it. Since the kids have a reading and writing teacher this year we had to decide together about who should be in honors. It was nice not to be the one and only decision maker on that. I mean, it makes me feel guilty telling a kid that they aren't ready for honors, especially when most likely that means that they won't end up in honors for the four years (although I was in honors sophomore and senior year only...went back and forth between the two because I was lazy). I just worry that I am tracking the kids out of opportunities, but it's not my system to deal with or fix, right? I am much more likely to let a hard working, all A student sign up for it, though, even if they aren't quite there yet, than a lazy kid that is there but does the minimum to get a fairly good grade. Anyway, my main point was it was nice to decide all of this with the other teacher and he has the list so I can send them to him to inform them of our decisions. :) I love passing the buck.:)

I'm watching American Idol. So far I haven't gotten super excited about any of them. Chris is probably my favorite, but I don't know...I haven't voted at all. I do like Bucky and his awshucksness (and Kelly, too). I guess this is the season of messed up teeth, huh?

I made contact with some people for the room, but they never followed up and met me or saw the room. However, someone finally did come over and see the room today. I got a good vibe from her, but I don't know if it will happen (it's weird how you picture someone in your head and they end up looking exactly like you pictured--I pictured her being overweight and she was). I did feel a little wary about her past financial issues she mentioned, but she seemed like a very honest and up front person. She has some other places she is looking at, too. I also was contacted by a few other people (one was a guy, but he's a 21-year-old from Minnesota, so I couldn't even meet him and I am a little wary of living with a guy). Two people are supposed to come see the room tomorrow. I talked to one of them and I got a really good vibe from her. She is also 28 and said she is separated from her husband. I am excited to meet her. Then the other one I haven't actually talked to and know very little about (other than that she has a cat, too). So we'll see if that ends up happening, but she did contact me twice now. Hopefully something will work out.

I got the first disc of Grey's Anatomy from Netflix. I loved it SO MUCH. I just wanted to see what the hype was about, and I was so into it. I wish I had known sooner so I could watch it on TV like normal people. I was sobbing during one episode. Seriously tears running down my cheeks, sniffling, everything. It's wasn't even PMS. I was at Chad's house watching it with the earphones while he was sleeping and he woke up and was wondering what was wrong with me. Ha ha. The second disc comes tomorrow! I even like the main character, Meredith, who is probably the one that most people don't like much. At first I was thinking they should have cast someone more attractive as the main character but she has such an incredible smile that I realized she really is very attractive (too skinny, though). I also never understood Patrick Dempsey hype before, but now he is my new boyfriend. I'll get down with an older man for him!

The Stevie Wonder night is not working for anyone and particularly not working for Lisa Tucker. I thought she was really, really bad. Worst performance from her ever. I actually thought that Ace and Melissa were the best so far. I am such a cliche, but Ace is my new boyfriend, too.

Since I have been cooking more, I can tell you my favorite new dinner. It is really easy to make. Take one can of Cuban style black beans from trader joe's. Cook it on the stove with hot sauce and a few small slices of sharp cheddar cheese. While you are doing that, make white rice, but substitute the water with a can of light coconut milk. Serve the beans on top of the rice. Not exactly a low-fat dinner, but it is my favorite dinner ever lately. Watch out when you clean your rice cooker, though, because if you don't do a good job the coconut milk makes the rice cooker smell RANK! Yes, I just said rank. Learn from my mistakes, people.

Gotta go!

previous - next