current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-06-18 - 6:09 p.m.

Thank you to those who left me comments of good luck! I had the interview today and I did okay. I didn't freak out or mess up, but I was pretty nervous. I actually made them laugh a few times, which is always a surprise because I am not a funny person. I interviewed with just the principal (a woman) and a Social Studies teacher (a man). The nicest part was that the principal said she talked with my principal for a long time (she called references early because she thought they might be going on vacation) and that he said a bunch of nice things. It felt good to know that. However, I don't think I am going to get the job. It sounded like there were other people with both Language Arts and Social Studies experience, and I really don't have much Social Studies experience (other than student teaching with eighth graders). I tried to sell myself, but who knows. I don't really even know if I want the job that bad, but I really want A JOB. I really don't think I will get it because I just didn't get that vibe. They were very nice and friendlym, though. It also sounded like they are interviewing a ton of people. Oh well. I am sad, but I am hoping that maybe one of the other job interviews will pan out. I did pretty good for it being my first job interview in over three years.

It's funny how I have sort of become involved in people's lives through the Internet, even though I am not really friends with them, and some don't even know I exist. One thing I find myself doing is saying general statements to Justin like, "Well everyone said that movie sucked, I don't want to see it." He asks who, and I realize that it is these people from the Internet who posted it in their weblogs. Another thing that happens is I see something and I think, "Wow, Switchfoot was in town--too bad I missed them." Then I realize that I've never heard their music and I only know about them because of an Internet homie. Am I becoming a recluse who spends too much time on the Internet? Sometimes it feels that way.

I'm really feeling pretty down about the whole job situation. She said I would know by Friday, so at least I will know before my next interview. The actual job sounded sort of scary. It was freshmen English, sophomore English and then this class called Current Issues, a senior level social studies class about current events. That sounds cool and fun, but also scary. Also I couldn't decide if I liked the principal and other teacher or not, and the other teacher would be like my partner in crime and have all the same kids as me. I actually do think I liked him, but I was sort of scared of her because she talked a lot. People who talk a lot sometimes make me nervous. I have a pretty good feeling that I am not going to get the job. I wish I could get rid of this bad self-esteem feeling where I feel like I will never get another job because I am too shy and too unsure and too everything.

I have to meet with my professor tomorrow about my portfolio and I can't bring myself to work on it. I am thinking about just not working on it, and then asking a bunch of clarifying questions and telling her I am almost done. It's not due, but I would have liked to have more to show her tomorrow. It is almost done, but not as almost done as I would like.

Because I am what they call an "emotional eater" I had Quiznoes for dinner on the way home. I love it when people try to personally relate to you. I asked for extra olives and the girl was all, "Is this enough, or do you want more? I love olives, too!" She also seemed pleased by the way I made up my own sandwich rather than taking the simple route of one of the predetermined subs. She was all, "Oh, so this is sort of YOUR OWN sandwich, huh?" I felt all original and special. See how fun and easy to please I am? Why doesn't anyone want to hire me?!?!?!?!?!?!

The other thing was that I had no one to talk to on the phone. Everyone was either not there or busy doing something ridiculous (like working) when I called them. I did call my mom, but she won't talk to me when I am driving because it is unsafe and very bad. She is right to do that, and I am a complete hypocrite and bad person for talking on the cell phone while driving. I don't do it very often. Great, now I feel even worse as I imagine you are cursing me in your head for being the driver on the cell phone that you hate.

Um, I think I'm in a weird mood. I'm being very avant garde and stream-of-consciousness. I don't even know what avant garde means, so I probably misused it badly. I don't care. You know who I hate? James Joyce.

I'm really annoyed and mad at Justin's family right now. Who goes camping for a week? It makes no sense whatsoever. They invited me, probably knowing I would say no. Who would want to be dirty for an entire week? I don't care if there is a river or stream either, that is just nasty. I don't have him to talk to about my interview, and I don't have him to hang out with, and it is all their fault and their stupid camping habits make me want to die. And his brother turned off his cell phone, probably in some sort of, "Technology would ruin the camping experience," protest. So I can't call him! I am outraged. The other reason I am outraged is because Justin has only two weeks off before summer school starts, and he is spending most of it without me! Please let me know if you have any thoughts on why anyone in their right mind would want to camp for a week.

I have to give major props to brenunda for sending me the fabulous Justin Timberlake picture link, and for recognizing that Top Model is the best show on television that no one is watching. You have to watch this show because it is the funniest thing in the entire universe. I feel really bad, but I couldn't help to laugh when that hick (sorry, I am perpetuating stereotypes) girl was crying because her mom got to come visit her and she, "ain't never seen Times Square." She is probably my favorite "top model" on the show, but I could not help making fun of her by myself in the privacy of my own living room. Am I a bad person for making fun of her? Is this wrong?

Speaking of which, what is the deal with Mallory from Real World: Paris. What is her deep secret that will disappoint everyone? Why is everyone so hot to trot for Ace? Whose name is Ace in real life, and why has no one asked him about being called Ace? Yeah, I guess he is cute, and his accent is intriguing, but he also seems like a big whiner/wino. Why is he the only hot guy on the show this time? I'm mad. Also, why is everyone so hot to trot for Mallory when Tina is so adorable and fun?

Also, why did I use the phrase "hot to trot" twice in the last paragraph?

I miss my friends.

previous - next