current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-10-15 - 9:48 a.m.

You know it's sad when the highlight of your week is getting nitrous oxide at the dentist. I hadn't experienced this before--except once when I was nine at the dentist--and it was very surreal. I highly recommend getting it if you ever have the opportunity at the dentist office.

I was a little bit embarrassed because I guess I took seriously the "laughing" part of the gas. After the dentist asked me a question I laughed, and he said, "Oh, I think you're one of those people who gets a little giggly when they get this gas." We all started laughing really hard, and I said maybe I was.

I think the weirdest part of the gas is the feeling that the dentist and assistant are zooming in and out toward your face. I guess you have that feeling anyway, since they really are, but it is completely magnified. I also got this sensation that I get sometimes when I drink too much where I'm like, "Do they know? Can I get away with not letting them know that I'm out of control?" And of course they are talking and asking questions, and it feels like, "No way can I even talk." But then you do, and you sound normal.

I have never really been much of a drug user. I probably smoked pot under ten times. It's not that I am especially anti-pot, it's just that it was not something I wanted to waste my money on. And maybe part of my whole guilt complex kept me from doing it more. The feeling that it was a bad thing to do, just because that is what is crammed down our throats. I have seen people get where they smoke pot way too often, in my opinion, so I guess that came into play, too.

How come when you are a grown up the dentist doesn't compliment you anymore on how well you bore the pain? I remember back in the day when I used to be sort of a dental celebrity because I always was so well behaved and quiet wheile I got my fillings (when I was little I had five cavities all at once, so I kept having to go back). I used to be called the dentist's "little helper," and I would get a cool prize. Why don't grown ups get prizes?

Honestly, the reason why I signed up to get nitrous oxide was because I got it when I was nine at the best-dentist-ever's office. I only went there once, but this dentist ruled. First of all was the whole nitrous oxide thing. But before I even got that, I got a list of tapes to choose from to listen to on a walkman while the dentist worked on me. He had so many good tapes! I remember being really hard pressed to pick between Madonna, Michael Jackson, and Prince. I ended up listening to Madonna's Like a Virgin tape. Then, after my fabulous zoom-in, zoom-out experience (while listening to "Material Girl"), I got to choose TWO prizes from this huge prize drawer! What a great day, right?

I have so much stuff I need to get done, but I am so lazy. I was reading someone else's diary (I forget whose, or I would link), and they were talking about how in the summer they have a hard time because they don't have a set schedule. That is so me. I have no reason why I can't spend hours on the Internet, so I do it. Even though I would rather get my cleaning and packing done, I seem to be unable to structure my time without a set schedule.

just found this rather bizarre article about William James.

I had better get going. I need a nap.

previous - next