current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-03-18 - 10:44 p.m.

I had an interesting weekend that resulted in two separate but strangely related thoughts: I should never drink alcohol again and I never want to eat Chinese food again.

You can guess where I'm going with that one. I think I'm getting a little bit too old for drinking. I never used to throw up and I never used to get hangovers, but apparently those blessed days have passed.

Part of the problem is that I rarely ever drink, so when I drink I want to get my driiiiiiiiiiiiiink on. I had a very amusing time, though. I went out with my two cousins and it was this whole chemistry weekend visit extravaganza at my cousin's school. She says that they are chemistry nerds, but there were a couple of hot prospectives. I'm pretty sure I told them that, too. Actually, here's what I did. I told this guy how much I loooooooooooooove Shaggy and Justin Timberlake. I went on and on, step by step, taking the poor guy through the "Cry Me a River" video (he commented, "You must really like that video, huh?") Then, after all of that, I said, "You know, you kinda look like Justin Timberlake." I'm all about the subtle innuendo.

My cousin did just as bad. My sober cousin gave some of the prospectives a ride back to their hotel (hotties included) and my poor cousin fell out of the car after not being able to get her seatbelt off. We both totally know how to win with the men.

But seriously, it was no big deal and we had fun. I didn't do anything that I regret (other than revealing myself for what I truly am--a 25 year old high school teacher trapped in a drunken, foolish teenager's body). I think we all really just needed a night out. I also got to see my aunt and boy cousin (sober cousin) and hang out with them, so it was all definitely worth it.

I am really pulling for Charles on American Idol, but what was that song? He needed to sing a slow song tonight. I really hope he doesn't get voted off this week, because even I have to admit that he sucked. He is still adorable, though. I hate Julia and both Kimberlys. I still hate Carmen, too. I did sort of feel for Julia when she said tonight, "I'm just inexperienced and I'm trying my best." That was the only time I felt any pity for her. I do think she is a good singer, but I just don't like her. I was also weirded out by Josh suddenly becoming country. I did not love his song choice. I didn't vote for anyone because I was too lazy.

It definitely feels like the week before Spring Break, which it is. Last week being gone, plus having no Fridays for the past two weeks in a row (budget cuts), plus our special fundraiser week which meant assemblies every day...well, it's been crazy. Also, grades are due tomorrow (I finished tonight by 6:30 PM, which is probably a new record for me). Part of the fundraiser week is dress like a teacher day for a competition between classes. Well, one of my favorite kids dressed like me. Unfortunately, I missed it, but EVERYONE told me how funny it was. Apparently they even incorporated Justin into the skit (my man, not Mr. Timberlake). I thought that was cute, and I was definitely flattered that they chose me. I had a few kids dress up as me other years, too, and it was funny. They definitely know all my weird mannerisms. Not just ANYONE gets to be made fun of in front of almost 500 howling kids, right?! HA HA.

My freshmen have been surprisingly out of control lately. I am not sure what happened, but they are acting like little monkeys. They're not really BAD but they are constantly touching each other, grabbing things from each other, wrestling things away from each other. I feel like a pre-school teacher: "HANDS TO YOURSELVES!" My seniors have been pretty good, so at least that's something. All of my students have been working on writing, after a sort of long break, and they actually seem pretty into it. I'm pleased, because I really struggle with teaching writing. None of the methods I have read about have really worked for me too well. In case you didn't know, let me let you in on something. Kids can't whisper. They can either be silent or they can be noisy, but there is no, "Keep it sort of quiet." And once one says something out loud, it's all downhill. So with reading it's fine, because I just insist on no talking. But with writing, sometimes they really do want to share ideas, but they just can't do it quietly. I've tried to fit it in by saying, "Okay, for this ten minutes you are going to talk and give each other suggestions." Well no one wants to talk about it when I've built it in... They really have been better than I just made it sound.

I've been really kind of worried because I had to turn in a video tape of myself to my teacher, and I feel really weird about it since I haven't heard back from her. I just feel insecure, even though I just got my first "real" contract renewal (for two years). I'm a real teacher now as opposed to a probationary. All that means is that they will have a lot harder time if they want to fire me, and that they are offering me a position for two years rather than one. But still...

Well, I really need to get to bed. I'm so glad that it is almost Spring Break, although I am not looking forward to it as much as one might expect.

On a final note, I downloaded the classic song "That's Just my Baby's Daddy." My bad taste in music is my only vice. ;)

previous - next