current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-03-20 - 7:20 p.m.

It's official, I am on spring break! I am happy, but I have so much to do that I'm not sure I will have much time for myself. I am just relaxing tonight. I graded all of the work that I assigned today, so I just have to make comments in their journals and grade their imaginative stories. It shouldn't be too bad. I also want to get my room at school more organized and do some other junk at school that I've been putting off. Then there are the job applications, my trip to see Jasmine, and work for my grad school class...but still, no monkey children for over a week!

I was actually feeling overwhelming love and affection for my kids today. Maybe because Spring Break means that soon we will be in the final stretch to the end of the year. I might never see these kids again, if I get a job elsewhere. This has definitely been my best year, even though it has been insane with four preps. I just love every one of the kids, even the annoying ones. I felt the same way last year, though.

I just got paid today, I guess so we can blow all our money on Spring Break. I did a very bad thing. At Wal-mart I had a secret plan to buy 8 Mile like the big sell out/hypocrite that I am. Well, once there I remembered that I was going to buy the Chicago soundtrack, which I have wanted forever. Then, because I have been having the "Up, Up!" song by Shania running through my head, I grabbed that CD, too. I told myself that there was no way that I could buy all three items. Then somehow I justified doing that by realizing that regardless of whether or not I buy those things, by the end of the month I will be broke anyway, and probably have less to show for it. So I bought them all. I love, love, love all three. Well, I haven't watched the movie yet, but I know I love it since I already saw it. I am completely frightened to see the uncensored "Superman" video. But yeah, you know that is the first thing I will be watching.

I want the movie of Chicago right now!!!! I know it will be ages before it comes out. I suppose I could go see it in the theater again, but I have no one to go with. Maybe I can make my cousin go.

For the record, I am against the war, and against President Bush. As I felt back during the Gulf War (when I was 13), I just can't believe that the leaders of a civilized nation can just up and decide to send young men over to kill other young men. It is beyond my comprehension, and therefore I just avoid thinking about it at all costs. Worse, I have former students in the armed forces and a friend in the Marines. I am so scared for them all.

I am also frightened by the idea that people speaking out against the war are being treated like they are disloyal and un-American. I know this has been mentioned by many other people, but it is completely ironic that people who are exercising freedom of speech, one of the things America is supposedly "defending," are being ostracized. I don't want to get into it, but I am also completely wary of our media and the propaganda that they shove down our throats. I don't know if all the channels had the same commentators during Bush's address, but one of the correspondents on channel 12 last night misspoke after Bush's speech and said, "It looks like the Al-Quaida forces...excuse me! Iraqi troops..." I was completely floored by that slip-up. Because, yeah, all of those guys are the same, right? Just confirmed by our national news coverage. I am so voting Green next election.

I didn't mean to talk about this because I didn't want to alienate any of my two readers, but I just had to get it out.

On top of everything else, Mr. Hardass said something to me today that really disturbed me. I have never loved Mr. Hardass, but I saw a nicer, softer side to him today. There is this group of students at our school that is sort of "different." They try to be politically active, and some of them are in the gay/straight alliance club (another controversial issue here in Hickville, USA) at school as well. Anyway, they have done some things like have peaceful singing about being anti-war. There are a very large number of students who are opposed to this, and completely support the war. That's great, I am all for an open discourse and a pleasant debate. Well apparently some of the students were singing anti-war songs earlier this week and the pro-war students were yelling obscenities and THROWING food at the anti-war students. Apparently there were teachers present and they did nothing to stop it. Mr. Hardass was outraged by this, as he should be. He was telling me how those students are already alienated enough without feeling unsafe. He actually brought tears to my eyes as he described it. I can't believe students could be so cruel to each other, especially since I am pretty sure I can guess who some of the pro-war kids were, and they are actually good kids at heart. It makes me sick.

On that depressing note, I'm going to go watch our nation's favorite misogynist. That's right, Eminem. But it's okay, because he's mad talented, right? He's just so deep and mixed up and confused, and he really loves women, because look how much he loves his daughter, right?

The lies that we tell ourselves.

previous - next