current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

18 November 2002 - 8:18 PM

This needs to be short, but I wanted to write. Today was okay. I am exhausted, and have another exhausting day ahead of me. I'm taking a first aid class for the next few days right after school. I had a club meeting, then bus duty right after school, then straight to this first aid class. The good thing is that we have it at our school, and it is with other teachers from my building. We also ordered in pizza, and tomorrow are ordering in Chinese, so that makes it all worth it.

Mondays are always hard, and I'm trying not to take them too much to heart. I'm always exhausted (though I actually fell asleep around midnight last night, instead of my usual Sunday-night-2 or 3 AM madness). The kids are always hyped up or grumpy or both. Anyway, I don't even have my lesson plans for Thursday or Friday yet. I still have to edit twenty or so papers tonight because the lesson plan for one of my classes tomorrow is for them to make revisions. I am trying to experiment with new ways of teaching writing, and I think this might be more effective than my old way. We'll see. The biggest problem coming up in these papers is that they don't have introductions. They just jump right into it.

The end of the six week period is sneaking up on us, and this weekend is going to suck for me because I will be grading journals all weekend. Oh well, better to collect them this week than to have them all over Thanksgiving break, right?

I have these two senior boys in one period that are constantly asking me to hang out with them, etc., and acting very flirty with me. Usually I have this problem only with senior boys, but it usually stops pretty quickly. Here it is November, and it is still going on. I have to figure out a way to stop it soon. I know that they are just kidding around and don't really have crushes on me or anything, but they are starting to make me a little uncomfortable. I guess if it continues I will have to talk to them privately, but even doing that will cause them to make a big joke about staying after class with me. Ugh. All of their comments and jokes are always in front of the whole class.

I bought the movie High Fidelity a few weekends ago, but haven't had the chance to watch it yet. I never seem to have time to watch the movies I buy, then if some weird obscure movie is on TV, I watch that. I watched Big on HBO the other day. That is such a great movie. I've probably seen it more than five times, but it's still really cute.

I did end up seeing 8 Mile this weekend. It isn't showing here yet, so many of the kids were asking me how it was. I enjoyed it. I am trying my hardest not to have a crush on Eminem like the rest of the United State's female population, but it's hard. I enjoy some of his music, but am disturbed by his message, and by the angry-young-manness of him. But it was a good movie. Brittany Murphy needs to gain some weight because she is tiny and she looked better before she lost all that weight. The sad thing is she seems to be becoming a bigger star right as she has lost all that weight. Someone needs to tell her to gain it back, because with her blonde hair and the weightloss she sadly looks like a crack whore.

I've got to get off now, because my hands are freezing and the only heater that works is in the livingroom.

previous - next