current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

7 January 2003 - 8:13 PM

I'm in a much better mood, even though Gilmore Girls isn't on again. Thank you to Chemteach for the note in my guestbook! It made me feel better.

I made the best hip-hop mix CD, and I was listening to it on my way home. It is full of stereotypical hip-hop mix CD type songs, but it's the best. Everyone has "What's Love" (I have no idea what the real names of songs are, so I just go by what I think they are called) by Fat Joe and Ashanti on their hip-hop mix, but I put it on mine anyway. That is the best song. I also put the two Cam'ron songs on there. I love the one that goes, "I smoke, I drink..." blah blah. I love it. Justin hates it with a passion. And another one that frequents hip-hop mixes is the instant classic "Miss Fat Booty" by Mos Def. That is the best song in the world.

I'm so excited because tonight is Real World. I missed last week's episode, so I get to see two episodes in a row. I always like watching three to four in a row because they are SO short. I bet they are fifteen minutes each. Maybe more like eighteen.

I was so mad because I went to take back one of my DVD sets that I got two of, and the lady just credited Justin's credit card. I explained that he wanted me to take it back with the receipt and get something else I wanted, but instead she just credited the card, and since it was done I guess could not undo it. It sucked. I was all ready for spending fifty dollars at Wal-Mart on whatever I wanted (like I don't do that at least once a week anyway). It seems like they would ask you how you wanted it if you were taking back a gift, but it was not really that big of a deal. Now I will just make him buy me stuff wherever I want, and not limited to Wal-Mart.

I could not fall asleep until 3:00 AM last night. I finally resorted to taking a sleeping pill. I had the hardest time getting up this morning. I even had made this huge resolution that I was going to start exercizing every morning before work, but not on three hours of sleep. Anyway, I know that won't happen, so who was I kidding with that idea. I just love to sleep way too much.

I had to get a refill at the pharmacy and I was kind of afraid I would get the cold shoulder from the pharmacy people. Last time I went there was the time they were going to charge me $80.00 when I thought it would be about $10.00. Anyway, out of shock I reacted in sort of a rude way. I was like, "WHAT, $80.00! I don't want it then!" and handed it back as quickly as I could. I think it was also sort of panic that they would make me buy it anyway since they already put it in the bottle or whatever they do. So I was sort of afraid they would be like, "OOOOH, that's that girl who couldn't afford the prescription last time and got all loud about it!" Luckily they hid any animosity toward me pretty well.

I have this group of friends that are putting out this yearbook. We do it every other year or so. Anyway, this time everyone is supposed to do their own book, then send it on to the next person on the list, so they can add on their pages, and so on. Well, in the past I did the whole group, but this year I am the known slacker. I keep getting all these emails like, "Haven't heard from B. yet, I'm getting kind of worried since I sent her my book a long ass time ago. I wonder if she is still participating." I feel super bad because I am holding people up. I thought about quitting, but then I thought I would be able to finish mine. I'm about 3/4 of the way done. Hopefully I can get my act together so I stop getting these emails of guilt.

I wonder if anyone else has this problem with email. I always check it, but I never answer anyone anymore. I used to be one of those people that answered as soon as I got it, but I never feel like I have much to say to anyone. It has turned into the way I used to act with "snail mail." People never even seem to mind if you just write something short, but apparently I don't even have time for that.

Today I was a real slacker. I didn't even pretend to attempt to grade a single paper. The other teacher that I work with teaches English, too. He never has any papers in his turn in boxes when I go in there. It sounds like he assigns stuff every day, plus he checks their journals every week. But he's always caught up! He didn't have any tips for me, either. I asked. I need some major tips. I even emailed this other English teacher I know out of desperation.

We got copies of Night in the mail today, finally. So now I'm thinking I would like to teach that. Everything seems perfect for sophomores, so I'm thinking of seeing if we can push it and teach it to freshmen. We keep deciding all these books are too mature for them, but we are left with nothing to teach them. I know it has mature themes, but it is short, and hopefully will be good for them.

All of this talk about emailing makes me think I should go work on my resolution of keeping in better touch with people.

previous - next