current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

8 January 2003 - 11:18 PM

"It is just a beautiful, beautiful braised pork butt." I have the food network on in the other room, and no joke I just heard Martha Stewart say that. HA HA.

Last night I was watching The Real World and it dawned on me that I actually like this latest cast. I feel like I am crazy, but that's just how it is. The only one that I really don't like is Stephen, and sometimes Trishelle. The other ones are annoying but I like them anyway. There was also some friend of Irulan's on there, Mikey, who I have a big crush on. I hope he is on there again soon. Alton is still my number one real world lover, though.

Can I tell you how much I love The Donnas? I love the song that goes, "I don't wanna wanna go to school no more...I don't want to grow up, I just want my Taco Bell..." It sounds exactly how I feel right now. Taco Bell and not growing up and no school, either!

I have to take my college class all day Saturday, and it is one of those things where I have no idea how to do the homework but it is due on Saturday. We were actually given no guidelines, because they assumed everyone knew how to do it. However, I went to a different school for undergrad, so I don't know how to do it. So, it sucks. I kind of have an idea, but I think it sucks that they didn't give us a better idea of what to do. I wish I was taking a fun and useful class, but this class is not fun or useful. Too bad.

I had a productive day at work and stayed until 7:30 grading, but I still have way too much that is not done. I am almost done grading my first period class, which is good because they need a grade printout soon. I also promised fifth period a grade printout by Friday. I should never open my big mouth, but they need one too. The other ones have all had one fairly recently so I don't have to worry about them until next week.

The Lovely Bones continues to be requested by me by tons of students. My only copy is out. If I had realized, I should have bought more copies at Costco because it was pretty cheap there. I asked the librarian to order a copy. If I get that grant maybe I will get someone to take me to Costco (I don't have a membership) so I can buy more copies. Another girl actually bought a copy of it, so that makes three kids. It is some kind of personal record for me, I am so proud. I really hope I get that grant again so that I can actually buy some more books. I can't keep spending my own money.

I bought the chocolate creme oreos for the parties and found that they are the most delicious cookies ever invented. I had a whole bag left over, and it seems as if I will be consuming that entire bag all by myself. Not good.

We have a big ballot measure here in January on an income tax increase. If it doesn't pass it means bad, bad things for Oregon schools. I am really nervous about it. Our school district already lost some days, but it will lose ELEVEN more THIS YEAR if the measure doesn't pass. That means a lot less money for me, obviously.

I mentioned tonight something to Justin about us seriously thinking/talking about moving to another state where they are not having this craziness and they need teachers. Nevada is one place I have heard is pretty good, and the cost of living is not supposed to be bad. I even mentioned Las Vegas and he didn't seem averse to it. I think it would be really cool moving somewhere else.

I love my students, but they are the biggest slobs. Why is it okay to just leave your book or paper on the desk or on the floor? It is ridiculous and annoying. It drives me up the wall constantly picking up after everyone. I make a big enough mess of the room all on my own. I also found some CHEW on a table. Can you believe some of my students chew? I can't think of anything more disgusting. A freshman got caught today chewing. No one I knew in high school ever chewed, I always thought of that as a hick old man habit.

I had better get going, it's getting late. I am trying to get more sleep, and even bought decaffinated pop. We'll see.

previous - next