current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-01-26 - 11:09 p.m.

Sometimes it really sucks only having one person that I can call at any time of the day or night. Because when that person isn't there, there is no one I can talk to. I just feel like my only real friend in the world is Justin, and he's at school working on a project.

I just had the scariest thing happen to me. I guess I am really lucky, but I just feel like such a stupid idiot and like I can't do anything right. I am actually crying right now, all over again.

So I got this great idea that I would make real homemade popcorn like my mom makes for me. How hard can it be, right? I even read the directions on the package. It said to put the oil in the pan and cover it, then when you throw one kernel in and it pops, you put the rest of the popcorn in. Well, simple enough. So I put the oil in the pan and cover it. I'm thinking the oil needs to sort of boil when it is hot enough. I'm waiting and waiting. Meanwhile it starts steaming, so I thought maybe it was time. I open up the lid and throw the kernel and it explodes! Suddenly the pan has flames shooting out of it. This was a lot of flames, and I am thinking maybe the house will catch on fire. I am freaking out. My mind flashes on the thought that you put baking soda on a grease fire. Even though I have that in my head, and I grab the baking soda and try to open it, I put the pan in the sink. I run water into it, and guess what, it explodes into an even huger fire so it is almost touching the ceiling! It's about the size of a fire you make at the beach. Then, as suddenly as it started, it goes out. I throw baking soda on the pan and the smoke alarm goes off. It was so scary for me that I started crying. I can't believe that I didn't get burnt and the house didn't catch on fire (or the curtain above the sink). Unfortunately, my pan is ruined and the ceiling above the sink is now grey instead of white. I hope there is a way to get it off. I just feel like such a stupid idiot because things like this always seem to happen to me. Normal people can make food without causing a fire, why can't I? It was so scary because I thought I was going to get hurt and that my house would burn down. I rent my house and I don't have renter's insurance.

Of course, then I go to call the one friend in the world and he's at school. Justin's brother, Jason answered and told me he was at school. He asked me if something was wrong and I just started sobbing. I felt so dumb but he was sympathetic. I don't know. It was just one of the more traumatic things that has happened to me, and I don't have anyone to talk to about it. I even checked on IM to see if anyone I know would sign on, but no one was on.

In other news, I don't think I'm ever going to get my grading done. I was at school for almost seven hours today and didn't even put a dent into it. I hate my life. Sorry to be so overdramatic, but it was scary. I mean, I just scratched the opening of my nose (not picking, I swear!) and there is black soot IN MY NOSE!

To top it all off, I still don't have any popcorn!

previous - next