current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-09-29 - 11:00 p.m.

I'm tired of my job right now. I'm tired of working all of the time. It's only been less than a month, and it's just too much. I've been surviving--pretty well, I might add--but I can't believe that people do this job sometimes. I did spend time with Justin this weekend, but part of that time was spent with him helping me do grading and such. I went in both Saturday and today AGAIN. It's just getting old. It used to be that when I went in on the weekend I would be there for about three hours for one day, but I spent at least five hours both days. It's not like I'm not doing work during the week, either, but it is just neverending.

But enough complaining. I still am enjoying the kids, and I'm not having as hard of a time being happy about going to school this year. I was really pleased with the projects I spent all evening grading, too. The seniors this year just seem really bright and motivated. Their projects are way better than the ones from the last few years. So good, in fact, that I put them up on the wall. So that was nice. So often the quality of work in my classes is really poor.

I am completely addicted to those flaming hot cheetos. Have you had those? If you haven't, don't try them because you will want to eat them all of the time. I love them.

My advanced kids are doing papers this week and I am feeling more confident that my class is challenging them as much as they need to be challenged. So I feel good about that, too.

Just when I got used to having an aide in my room, something has happened. I actually really was starting to like this woman, and she was really helpful. Then they staretd some of their budget cuts and moving around, and she and another assistant have been moved to a nearby school. They found out on Friday and have to be at the other school starting Monday. How horrible for them. Not to mention that they both have kids at the school, so they have to be apart from their kids, too. The other assistants got cut hours as well. The whole thing is pretty sad and I feel bad for all of them. I reaLly hope that they don't put someone new in my classroom to take her place, though. I don't know if I am just selfish, but I feel like I will be okay without an aide. We'll see what happens.

I also wonder if this means we will find out soon about whether or not we will have days cut this year. I can't really afford it, but I guess I will be okay no matter what happens.

My birthday is coming up quickly and I'm excited because I know my mom ordered me some stuff from my amazon list. I can't wait to see what I got.

I still haven't received my phone and I am starting to feel scammed by Allan. He is no longer my best friend, or even on my top ten list.

I think it's really funny that when kids write papers, I often write the comment, "Paragraphs should be more than two sentences each." And just look at me. The last three paragraphs consist of two sentences each. I'm such a rule-breaker. I am completely reckless, I know. I also start sentences with and and but all the time. I don't care.

I watched that show American Dreams and thought it was pretty lame. I just might watch it again, though. We'll see. I always like shows with teenage characters, but the only characters at all interesting to me were the mother and the daughter's friend. I do like shows that are set in the past. I am still lamenting the loss of Freaks and Geeks. Speaking of losses, I just read that they are going to release the complete season of My So-Called Life on DVD. I want it, of course. Another show is supposed to start tomorrow--Felicity is going to be on Women's Entertainment, but I have no idea what time. I'm going to try to investigate tonight. I didn't see that show from the beginning, so I definitely want to see any old episodes I missed.

I spent far too much time reading the advanced kids' journals this weekend. These were the first journals I read of the year, and as usual, I am amazed by what they are willing to tell me. Especially the girls. They are definitely better writers, so it was even more of a pleasure to read. Usually the journals aren't that bad anyway, it's more their papers in general. I am trying to do the whole writing workshop thing this year and we'll see if it helps anything. I've started something different--having them type their rough drafts. Who knows if it will work or not, but the other English teacher gave me the idea.

This weekend when Justin and I went out, we went to a restaurant. Mr. Cool-teacher-who-sings was out with a group of teachers from another school. He said hello. Then, the new teacher I mentioned came in with his girlfriend. He was obviously invited by Mr. Cool-teacher-who-sings. Well. I guess I just felt bad and jealous. No one has ever once invited me to do anything with them outside of school. Yet this new guy is already hanging out with other people. What is it about me that makes it so no one wants to get to know me outside of school? Before I just assumed no one was really hanging out outside of school, but this just burst my bubble. I never see this guy, or I might think about inviting them to do something myself. I don't know. I am always mystified by the process of making friends. And I know there are things that I could do, but I just can't do them.

I got an email from one of my students from last year today. There are actually three of them writing me now. That makes me so happy. This one, in particular, I was so happy to hear from. She is smart and cool, and is the kind of person I would want for a friend if I was in high school still.

I am so sorry, but I am not at all caring about Joey Harrington and his rookie year. The only thing that interested me in the least was the outfits the Lions were wearing. Those are cute outfits (for a football uniform).

And that's all I have to say about that.

previous - next