current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

21 January 2003 - 5:52 PM

I'm feeling very refreshed. There is something about having a three day weekend, and then having a morning workshop (only had to teach two classes), that has left me in a super happy mood. Surprise, surprise. The best thing is that the workshop was useful and informative. The other good thing is that I am all signed up to go to this reading conference and am going to be roommates with my email buddy/friend from another school. I am very excited. I was not sure if I was going to go because I also have a class that weekend, but when I went to the NCTE conference I had such a relaxing and fun time. So I decided this would be good, and my principal was all excited that it was free due to a grant. I will miss two days of school.

Should I be disturbed that when I walked into the room of my fourth period class that they were better behaved than they are when I am there? On the one hand I was very pleased to see them so quiet and on-task, but on the other I felt as if they were doing better for him than me! Hmmmm.

I am being observed in a few weeks, and am really nervous. It will be after he writes my letter for me, so that pressure is off, but still. I hate having someone else in the room. I am just not as good as I can be when no one is watching. I am also videotaping next week, so it will be rather hellish pretty soon.

I am so excited about American Idol. Unfortunately I have to miss Gilmore Girls to see it. Hopefully Shaun will let me know what's up. I can't get my VCR to work with Digital Cable, which is infuriating and takes me back to the dark ages when people couldn't tape TV shows.

I brought home a whole stack of late work to grade (mainly I took it out of the turn-in box so that they couldn't sneak any late work in tomorrow). I am really not wanting to do it, but what with my class and all of my obligations I really need to learn how to manage my time better. I don't want to grade late work anymore. I am definitely going to take a harder stance on late work in the future, because this is killing me.

I had better get to my grading. Hope everyone feels as wonderful and relaxed as I do today.

previous - next