current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-01-28 - 11:17 p.m.

I am so mad I could spit. The big special election ballot measure failed. This means, I believe, that we will be cutting an additional twenty days or so from this school year. Portland will be cutting eight (in addition to the fifteen they have already cut). Yesterday we were informed that in anticipation of the possiblility of the measure failing, our budget is completely frozen. We can't buy any supplies for classes or ANYTHING. The only thing that we are lucky about is that we already have paper for photo copies for the rest of the year. This was without warning. It was a close election, but at this point (84% of the votes are counted) it is about 55% to 45% no. There are other things that are being cut besides education, too. The thing is that everyone knew what would happen as far as days being cut, but still it failed. All I have to say is that they had better get rid of some of this standardized testing bullshit because you know it costs hundreds of thousands of dollars each year that could be spent on more teachers. I can't believe how selfish people are. The tax increase would cost the average family only ten additional dollars per month. Instead, the average child in this state loses more than twenty days of school.

I sort of entered this whole thing with the idea that whatever happens happens. I mean after a day like today, an additional twenty days off feels like a blessing (Of course, what other profession would ask someone to take not one but two pay cuts after we just worked so hard to get a 2% raise negotiated with our union last year? They are taking it back and then some.) But of course I voted yes. It is just ridiculous, though. I have been realizing lately that I work really, really hard; obviously this feels like a slap in the face. Surprise, surprise, though. As if this sob story is anything new.

In other crappy and depressing news, one of my classes now has 39 students. ALL of my classes except one ended up getting bigger at the semester by a lot. I have two classes that are under twenty five. The rest are 29 or over. I felt like I was going to explode during the 39 students class. The room was about to burst with students. Even though the students were being relatively good while I called them over to tell them their grades, it was still unbelievably loud. I did have classes that size at the beginning but some kids dropped out or got kicked out. There is no other place to put them either, except my one other class since I am the only one that does seniors. Some of them came over from the honors class and some are kids graduating early, so that's why there are so many more. I am really mad. The thing that makes me really mad is that they put five more students into my freshman class, even though there are three other freshmen classes that are beneath twenty students, taught by other teachers! WHAT THE HELL! 29 freshmen is just not fair when others have such small classes. The other teachers said that wasn't fair and would take some of my leftovers, but who knows. I obviously have been making a fuss about this, but who knows what they are going to do.

I know that I am supposed to be flexible and nice and view this as a challenge, but it is really, really, really hard right now. I also am beginning to worry even more about whether I will even have a job HERE next year. This sucks.

On a positive note, my classes and I were able to joke around all day about having new big classes. The old kids took great pleasure in telling the new kids how things work, and it was fun seeing them explain some of the routines. It made me feel good because we actually do have routines in my class. Who knew? I think I am not spelling that right, and frankly, I do not care enough to find out how to spell it.

I'm being observed soon, and I absolutely hate being observed. Especially with these new kids around that are so unstable because I know nothing about them, and they always seem to have the idea at first that they can get away with anything with me because I'm so sweet. Total run-on, sorry.

Anyway, think good thoughts for me. At least tomorrow is going to be a relatively easy day.

previous - next