current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

26 November 2002 - 7:22 PM

Wow, if I had known that mentioning Glitter would get me two horrified guestbook entries, I would have mentioned it long ago! :) It is a source of secret shame for me, but I became obsessed with the idea of the movie. It just looked like it could be so bad it would be good. However, when I rented it, I realized it was so bad that it was just plain bad. So I guess I redeemed myself by not loving it? I hope so.

Today was a good day. I had this whole plan for the freshmen to do after the story we read, but they actually seemed to want to discuss it. We did, and it segued into them talking about their own risks and personal experiences. Everyone kept raising their hands, even some of the usually-quiet ones. And you know how I am about discussions so anytime they want to discuss something I am all for it. It was really cool (although I am beginning to think some of my students are a little on the strange side based on some of the things they were saying!) Funny how my freshmen are turning into my best class. Even though my skater boys did not contribute to the discussion, one kid told a story which involved the interesting comment, "And then this guy chased these kids down the street with a garden tool!" One of my skater kids came up to me afterwards and told me that he was one of the kids being chased by the garden tool. It was a very funny story, and it was just so cool that he came up to share it with me. He was very out of his angry-young-man character today, and that made me so happy.

I finished the Diary of Ellen Rimbaugher. Well, if you plan to read this book, please don't read on (skip this paragraph). I went the whole book thinking this was a real diary. I even checked out this website link which made it seem legit. There were some nagging questions in the back of my head over whether it really was a true story, especially towards the end. Not because of the house sucking people in, because I tend to believe some of that paranormal stuff once in a while, but just some of the things that were mentioned. The thing about how she kept building onto the house because a psychic told her so reminded me so much of the Winchester Mystery house, so that started giving me doubts. After I finished, though, I just knew it had to be fake. And so I went online and found that it was fake. I feel weird about the whole thing. It was an interesting read, but I am disappointed that the whole thing is made up. The weirdest part is the photos in the book of the house. I wanted to go see it when we were in Seattle, but I had no idea where to look for it. I even told everyone about the book, like an idiot. Oh well.

I have absolutely nothing to say right now. Tomorrow is the last day of the week! Yay!

previous - next