current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-07-28 - 2:58 p.m.

I've just been packing and listening to the Oldies station--I packed my CDs, what am I going to do?

I checked out books from the library here, and the one in Portland, so I have a ton of books to read and no time to read them. I finished reading most of Alfie Kohn's What to Look for in a Classroom, which was made up of essays on education. I like Alfie better as a speaker, but he has some good ideas. It's more a theory book than a practical book, though. I am also currently reading Wonder Boys by Michael Chabon, and I am surprised by how much I am enjoying it. I liked the movie, but I picked it up by chance. I heard that The Adventures of Cavelier and Clay was supposed to be really good, but the library didn't have that one. I think this guy is a really good writer--I'm not usually interested in reading about middle aged men, so I guess that does say something about how good he is.

Tomorrow is that hiring appointment I have. I'm eager to learn how much I will be paid. It's so strange to me that at most jobs you don't find out how much you will be paid right away. It seems like they should let you know IMMEDIATELY, because it's such an important and vital thing. And they should know that you are going to feel awkward bringing it up yourself.

I stayed up incredibly late last night talked to Cassandra on the phone, then just messing around on the computer. Maybe someday I will actually have a life outside.

previous - next