current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-08-01 - 12:32 p.m.

I have been gone so much this summer that it seems like I update even less than when I was in school. This will probably be my last update for awhile because I think I am going to do the unheard of and take my cable modem and cable box back early. I am not getting much packing done when I am home, partly because I think I'm distracted by these things. So it might be awhile before I get on again. We already have the cable and internet scheduled for hookup, but that won't be until the 14th.

I haven't been doing a lot. I went to the thing at the district office where they give you all of these forms to fill out with all of the other new people. I sat next to one girl who will be teaching at my school, and found out she just got out of the same program I did. I think she was super nervous about being new, because she wasn't very friendly with me. I did most of the talking, and I am a pretty shy person. But there were about four of five other young teachers (and some older ones) at the meeting that will be at my school too. So hopefully someone will want to be my new friend. All of that paperwork made me really nervous, because you have to choose what insurance you want and you have five choices. It's really hard to choose between five different choices, especially when you will have to pay out-of-pocket on all but one. Insurance really sucks when you're a single person because it all costs the same whether you have a family of five, or just you. I am most likely going to not get dental insurance because of this. The district covers $600.00 and the rest is out of pocket. I am probably going to go with the medical plan that will cost me almost $60.00 out of pocket (it's not the medical plan I want, but it's better than paying almost $200.00 per month). They only have two dental plans, one is $95.00 a month, and one is $113.00 a month. That means that if I get dental I will be paying a total of at least 155.00 per month! The thing is that I just got my teeth filled, and cleaned, and each procedure cost only about $100.00. So there seems to be no reason to me to get dental insurance of almost $100.00 a month, when I probably only spend about $200.00 per year on dental care. I was a little bit worried because I wanted to get my wisdom teeth out next summer (WHY DIDN'T I DO IT THIS SUMMER?!?!?!), but apparently it isn't that expensive to do that, either. So anyway, I don't see the point of getting dental when it is just me. It really sucks that I have to go without when one of the things that you always hear is that teachers get really good benefits. My ultimate guilt complex, of course, is saying that I shouldn't be complaining because so many people don't even get the option of having insurance. I totally disagree with the United State's health care system, just for the record. If you didn't know, health insurance rates are going up at about 18% to 20% PER YEAR! That's outrageous, which is why teachers are now having to pay out-of-pocket for part of it.

I am also going to call and find out if they allow for domestic partners, because I guess some places let your domestic partner on the insurance. However, I doubt Blue Cross will do that, because they are fascist Nazis.

I did find out my salary, and combined with the fact that there won't be any cut days in this district, I will be making more money. I will have that extra county tax, though, since that was what enabled us not to have cut days, but I don't think that will be too expensive.

I'm still reading Wonder Boys, which is still pretty great. I am glad I picked it up. It's overdue, but I may as well take advantage of the no-late-fee policy at the local library for the very last time, right?

I am so outraged at the T.S.P.C. right now. My teaching license is up for renewal, and they sent me the confusing forms to renew them. Well, I have ONE SIMPLE QUESTION. I called them and they don't let you talk to a person, you get a recording because, "they are experiencing high volumes of calls." The recording promises that they will call you back, and basically says that you should not call back again because, "WE WILL CALL BACK!" Well, I called on Monday, and they still haven't called me back! I have to talk to them before I send in the forms because they are Nazis about the forms. If you have one thing wrong, they send it back to you. This is bad because they take up to a month to process your forms. So I am really in a bind about what to do. I HATE THEM. My license needs to be renewed by October, so I don't really have much time to wait around for them. I am looking online to see if I can find the answer, but it is all due to their POORLY WORDED QUESTIONS.

Justin is coming over soon to help me pack, so I better get off. I wanted to wash the dishes and take a shower before he gets here...blah. Maybe I should stop trying to pretend I'm not a dirty non-housekeeper type.

Talk to you at the end of the month.

previous - next