current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-02-02 - 10:02 p.m.

I think I slept more this weekend than at any other time in my life. Justin and I were massive sleepers. We slept in on Friday, then took about two naps, then today we did the same thing. Oh well, it was nice.

Nothing really interesting happened this weekend. We went to Pizza Hut and had that stuffed crust gold pizza. It was pretty good. We also went to the "mall" which is like hick-town shopping center. If its main draw is an Emporium, you know it is not a real mall.

The best part was going to the book store because I got to get a bunch of books for the students. I read about half of one called Leslie's Journal. It wasn't the greatest, but it kept me entertained. I really, really want to write a Young Adult novel. I feel like I could write a pretty good one. I really need to do it.

One of my email friends, WT, wrote me on January 31st to tell me that it was Justin Timberlake's birthday. I thought it was very funny that he knew that and I didn't! HA HA.

I didn't have very much luck planning my week, which sucks because I have to meet with my principal to discuss what he will be seeing during his observation of me this week. I will not be meeting with him until Tuesday, but it would be nice not to have that hanging over me. I know what I am doing, but I haven't really written it all out. I am the queen of procrastination, so it is as if I CAN'T do it until tomorrow night.

I had to video tape my class, and I watched most of it. It wasn't as awful as I thought. On the one hand, it wasn't the world's most exciting lesson. On the other, the kids seemed to be engaged, and I didn't make any noticable blunders. So I am going to use it. The annoying thing is that I have to watch it more closely and write a 1-2 page paper, and then have my professor watch it. I really don't care what my professor thinks of me, as long as I pass the class and get my CTL. However, I hate the idea of someone watching me anyway. I have the weirdest mannerisms. I made sure not to mess with my hair too much, but I still couldn't resist touching my hair by flipping it out of my way. I don't think that I can get out of my hair obsession without shaving my head bald.

Speaking of which, I wonder if I have some degree of obsessive-compulsive disorder. I am really obsessive when it comes to my blankets on my bed. I can't stand it if the blankets aren't lined up perfectly at the top of the bed. I can't stop touching my hair, even when my wrist is starting to hurt from the twisting motion. There are a few other things, too. However, I don't feel the need to wash my hands repeatedly, or anything like that.

I finally got my tax information from Sallie Mae. All I am waiting on is my savings account interest information, and then I can do my taxes. I also have this 401B plan that I put $100.00 into each month. I think I might need something from them for my taxes as well. The other dilemma is the new educator's credit. I know I have spent $250 in the last year on my classroom. However, I don't have the receipts (that I know of). So, what do I do? Should I take the credit? What are you other teachers doing for that?

I bought a big ass container of red vines this weekend. I am not sure why, but it felt like a good idea. They were only $4.88, when normally they are about $6.00.

I also had this really weird impulsive catalog shopping excursion which resulted in me spending almost $200.00 that I don't have. I am not sure what came over me. Every once in a while I go crazy with the credit card and sabotage all my hard work at paying it off. This rarely happens, except at Christmas and once in a while on a clothes binge. Most of the time I never touch them anymore, except for when I am fixing my car. I just fixed my car, and now the service engine light has come on yet again. I hate that stupid car.

I hope we will hear soon how many days we are getting cut from our school year. I also hope that we get the list to see the seniority soon. I want to know how much at risk I am for losing my job.

My worst nightmare would be having to be a substitute teacher during the day, and a waitress during the evening. If I have to, I guess I could do it, but I can't think of a more horrible combination.

I haven't received my recommendation letters yet, and both were supposed to be done by Feb. 1st. I really hope that they are in my box on Monday so that I don't have to bug people about them. I am also nervous about the principal's because I am afraid he will be like, "Oh yeah, I thought I would wait until after I observe you this week." That would be really bad. Not that I'm afraid of him watching me and making my letter worse, but that it will put even more pressure on me if I think my recommendation is riding on this observation. It doesn't seem fair. I don't really trust anyone. I actually like and trust him a lot, but as I learned from student teaching, it is bad to do that. People seem to just stab you in the back for no apparent reason.

I have a lot of work to do for my CTL stuff, too, and I am not looking forward to it. I am not really clear how to do some of it, either, surprisingly enough. I am also pissed at the university because they charged me a $40 late registration fee. I am going to write them a letter begging them to waive it, since I am only taking one class, am not a student so was not aware of the deadline, and am a poor teacher who is not receiving any financial aid (due to the fact that I am not a student). It is already $255 for a one credit course that is helping me in NO WAY with my teaching! It is ridiculous and I feel like quitting the program and moving to Australia.

My mom seems to be leaning toward coming home after this school year. I am really, really glad. She was thinking about staying another year to try out teaching little kids (she really doesn't think she is cut out to teach high school after all), but she is sort of wavering. I hate how mean her students are to her. It is not a surprise because they are really tough students in an area with a teacher's shortage. No one wants to teach these kids so obviously they have issues, but still, I wish they would appreciate my mom a little more.

I let the other English teacher (the one I am sort of friends with) watch a little bit of my teaching tape and he said that I looked very calm and not at all nervous. I thought that was very cool, considering I was extremely nervous. He also said he could tell I was a good teacher. He saw all of two minutes of my tape, but I chose to think that you can tell from only two minutes. HA HA. I am really glad I am getting better at hiding my nerves. My principal has also said that I hide it very well.

Due to some budget cuts, we have a four day weekend the weekend after next. I am very excited by this. I have Valentine's Day off! It has never been a favorite holiday, even though I am not a depressed singleton and have had a boyfriend for the last seven V-days. I saw a cute frame at the store yesterday and I was trying to point it out to Justin, but in his mad quest to find the cheapest batteries he did not pay a bit of attention. So I couldn't even drop him a subtle hint. I really don't want any presents, either. I guess I would just like to hang out together or something. I guess we could see a romantic movie or something of that sort.

I was thinking of watching Kingpin tonight, but I figured I would wait and hear if it is good, first.

I'm so not looking forward to school tomorrow. I'm sorry, I just am not.

previous - next