current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-11-26 - 9:35 p.m.

Middle school kids have no inhibitions. I mentioned that Justin came by the other day. He came by to help me make a poster the next day, and he ran into two of my students on his way to come see me.

"Hey, aren't you that Justin guy?" they asked him.
"Yeah?" he said.
"Your girlfriend is my teacher!" one exclaimed.
"Your girlfriend says that you have a nice butt, and she's always talking about you in class!" said the other.

Um...yeah. I knew it had to be eighth period kids, since we had the butt conversation that period (a blatent lie, but the subject of his butt was brought up by THEM)...by his descriptions ("puffy hair with a hat") and my teacher investigation skills, I quickly figured out who the culprits were. I asked one of them about it today and he was so cute and excited about it (and surprised that I was able to figure out it was him). I told him he totally embarrassed me, which he just loved. I wasn't really that embarrassed--Justin knows how crazy my students are.

Somehow their excitement over my boyfriend makes eighth period more endearing. They tease me constantly about everything (never tell eighth graders your embarrassing stories from childhood, or they WILL manage to work them into class discussion EVERY SINGLE DAY. I have to give it up to their ability to segue.)

This is the best time of any vacation, or weekend--the first evening you have off, just thinking about the four non-work days ahead and how I can do exactly what I want this evening. I have to make fruit salad for tomorrow, but I'm not due over there until 1 PM anyway.

Elizabeth called me tonight, and it made me realize how much I miss talking to friends. We talked about an hour and she cracked me up the whole time. I have to call my other friends...ever since I got rid of my cell phone I haven't called anyone. Not that I was very good about it when I had the cell phone either. But now I'm signed up for a long distance plan and it's not that expensive.

My elective class is still so much fun. I've realized how fun it is to teach a class that is small, laid back, relaxed, low-stress, and something the kids actually want to be doing. Sometimes the kids want to do my regular class, but you know, I need to find ways to make it more fun. That's a goal that I'll try to fulfill. (Along with the other forty goals I have about school.)

And I'm out.

previous - next