current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-06-24 - 11:08 p.m.

I will know by the end of the week if I have a new job or not, but I won't be online for a while due to Jasmine's wedding! I am keeping my fingers crossed for a particular job. Out of the four interviews I had, I really felt like I clicked with one group I met with today. It is for a seventh grade reading class. Even though I am slightly frightened by the idea of teaching middle school again, I am also really excited. I love my high school kids, but the insanity that comes with middle school is so tempting. The other thing is that I think that the staff members at middle schools are usually pretty great. In my limited experience, I have noticed that middle school teachers are a bit on the wild and crazy side as compared to high school teachers. They also seem to be more about trying new ideas and being innovative. So anyway...if I end up without a new job, I will be okay with that. If I end up with a new job, I will be thrilled.

Can I just say, though, that teaching interviews are the most ridiculous, nerve-wracking invention known to humankind? I recognize that getting a lot of input from the staff is a good thing, but imagine being interviewed by a language arts teacher, a social studies teacher, two vice principals, and a principal all at the same time. Yeah. I am very thankful to have such an interview, but how can a human being face that kind of scrutiny without being a bit freaked out? All of these interviews have left me in this permanent state of jittering, like I'm coming down from a high. But they are OVER OVER OVER OVER! No more wearing that awful business outfit type suit thing, at least not this year. Like I said, if I don't get hired from one of these four interviews, it just wasn't meant to be this year.

I managed to answer just about every question that was asked of me without going into panic mode, but really some of these questions are just insane. The worst are the two or three part questions. By the time you finish answering the first part of the question, you have forgotten the rest. Some of the questions in my last interview just did not seem to make any sort of sense. There was some question that was like, "How do assignments like projects and exams determine student success?" I had no idea what they were talking about as far as success, or what they were really trying to get at, and they very helpfully told me that it meant, "However you might define success." Who knows what I said as my answer, but it made sense at the time. But by far the most random question I was asked was, "How would you teach students about virtues of truth and honesty?" HUH?!? So I am supposed to on the spot come up with a lesson about how I would teach such virtues? I have never once thought to myself, "Hmm, the students have been awfully dishonest this week. I should come up with a lesson on how to address that problem."

I am so grateful that after tomorrow I will be done with my portfolio and on my way to Jasmine's wedding. I just want to relax and have fun with my friends. I can't wait.

previous - next