current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-06-22 - 1:54 p.m.

I didn't get the job. I wasn't surprised, but it still made me sad. Oh well. They said that they wanted someone certified in Language Arts and Social Studies, which led me to wonder why they interviewed me for the position. Anyway...at least I got the dreaded first interview out of the way. I have an interview tomorrow, and two more the next day. One is for high school English, and two are for middle school positions. I spent most of Friday driving around with my mom, figuring out where the schools were. Even though they are all in the Portland area, they are all kind of out of the way. Keep your fingers crossed for me. If none of these three schools hire me, I am pretty much going to stay here another year. I need enough time to give notice (we are supposed to give a long amount of notice) and move.

I managed to do some fun stuff the last few days. I ended up staying two nights at my mom's (it's so nice to have her back!) She has a couple of friends, who are actually my age, that moved to this area. The guy taught at my mom's school, and I guess they wanted to move to Oregon. I met them, and we went to see the movie Sweet Sixteen. This is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. It's set in Scotland (luckily it has subtitles, because their accents are thick and they have strange slang), and is about this kid, Liam, who ends up selling drugs to try to make a better life for his mother and sister. It was so sad and good. You should definitely see it if you have an independent movie theater around your house. It is way better than Bend it Like Beckham, and I liked that one a lot.

My mom and I also rented Igby Goes Down, which I didn't think was all that great. It was sort of like I liked the characters pretty well, but I didn't really get emotionally invested in what happened to them.

I went to Old Navy and only spent $5.00 on two pairs of thongs (flip-flops, not underwear).

Cassandra is coming on Thursday, and we are driving up to Jasmine's wedding. I still haven't got a present for her, and am thinking I might just give her money. I did get her these cute little wedding bears, but they only cost about $10.00. I also have my portfolio due this week, so I am pretty much panicked about that. Not to mention I have to clean my entire house for Cassandra's visit.

I may not be on for a while. Hopefully I will have good news the next time I write.

previous - next