current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

12-3-02 - 10:00 PM

I tend to avoid watching old shows like I Love Lucy and Leave it to Beaver, but the other day I watched Leave it to Beaver for the first time as an adult. That was a QUALITY show! I couldn't believe how much I enjoyed myself. It all revolved around the Beav being caught between two dates for the dance. In the end, he gets dumped by both, but when his dad thinks he is all sad, he's actually up in his room doing these crazy dance moves. I laughed so hard that I almost cried.

Whenever I watch a show from the fifties, I am always fascinated by the people. I'm not just weirded out by the sexism and weird kid/parent relationships, but by the way they move, talk, and their general mannerisms. They were just so WEIRD back then. I know it's just TV, but isn't TV a reflection of society? I want to know what it was really like.

I got some antibiotics at the doctor, and thankfully I just have a bad cold (how boring). He thought that I might have some allergies, too, and gave me a prescription for allergies. Well I went to fill it and found out that it was $80.16 (even with my handy insurance card!) I was embarrassed and had to say that I did not want it after all. Once again screwed by my HMO! WOO HOO! They are number one on my list-o-hate right now.

I'm a little worried because of my ear. He said that one of my ears was a bit red, while the other was normal. However, he didn't give me a prescription for earaches. I'm not sure if he forgot in the frenzy of the three other prescriptions he gave, or if he was like, "Yeah, it's red, but not red enough." It is still hurting but not super bad. So I guess we'll wait and see. I have never felt pain like earaches, so I am hoping I won't get one.

I'm done with grades and they are all entered and ready for them. I felt sort of bad because on their papers this time all I gave was just a letter grade. I gave them mucho feedback on their rough drafts, so hopefully they won't be pissed about not having a bunch of little comments. We'll see.

I have to take this opportunity to give a big shoutout to Shaun's friend, Tammy, who actually has the "Summertime in the LBC" MP3 and offered to give it to me. It's all about the connections. :)

I completely missed Gilmore Girls tonight, so I'm hoping that someone will mention what happened on their weblog or something. What a nightmare.

previous - next