current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-03-27 - 10:12 p.m.

I'm back after a little break. I was off spring breaking it up. Nothing too interesting--I spent the whole time with Justin. He came here for Friday and Saturday, then we went to his apartment (where we saw Mark and Elizabeth for one night), then we went to Portland to hang out with his parents (and saw Mark two more times). Overall I had a nice time. I also went to American Eagle and bought some new clothes. Normally I am kind of anti-American Eagle because all of their clothes are super small, but I like some of their basic stuff. I can't stand wearing shirts with logos of brands, so all that is out, but I got a cute skirt that goes with a shirt I already had, four basic t-shirts, and a cute polo-type shirt that's navy with blue stripes. Overall I was very happy with my purchases.

I paid off one of my credit cards and transferred the other two amounts to my new Platinum Discover Card. The sole reason I got the new card was because I wanted to do the balance transfers. It's 0% financing until September so that actually will save me some money, and it will be nice just making one payment per month. I figured out that if I pay X amount (too embarrassed to say how much) per month, I can get it paid off within a year. I need to get rid of one of the other cards, and then with the third card I will just use it once in awhile and pay it back right away each month. I really want to be free of credit card debt soon. I plan to not use the Discover card at all. They always say the best way to start a savings plan is to start by paying off your credit cards so that's what I am trying to do. I also started saving $200.00 per month last month and changed my tax forms so they take out more so I'll get a return next year. I know it's not a lot, but at least I'm trying to be a little more responsible about saving for my future.

One thing that was so nice about staying at Justin's parents' house was the food! His mom spoils us rotten with snacks and dinner. I ate massive amounts of homemade sushi, those shrimp chips I mentioned before, and other random snacks. And she made Korean food both nights for dinner. This one dish had these mushrooms that I'm just addicted to. The other is curry made with duc (not sure of the spelling) which is this soft rice thing. It is so good. Anyway, not only did I have it for dinner, I had leftovers for lunch, plus she sent me home with a ton of it and with some of the mushrooms so I can use it in stirfry. I know that sometimes I complain about her, but she definitely hooks me up! Last time I was there she made special Kimchi pancakes because she knows I love them. I know it sounds weird but it is so good. You don't eat them with syrup or anything like that.

Now I have to get back on the exercise track. Blah. I really need to do it though, because I have been having very poor body image lately. I got that India Arie CD though, and was very torn. I feel like her Video song should be my new theme song. Where was that song when I was in high school? I think that should be forced listening for all high school girls. And for all of us 20 something girls/women as well. If you haven't heard the song, it is a "be thankful for the looks you have because that is how God intended it" song. I love it.

I had a really bad Midas auto experience on my vacation too. I am thinking of starting just a general boycott page now and Midas is first on my list. I wrote them a scathing email about how poor their customer service is and I hope people get in trouble at that particular location. Midas sucks, don't ever go there. Maybe I'll tell you the story later, but I got tired after typing the whole story in the email, and I didn't think to save it. The only good news is that my brakes are fine and they are just squeaky in general (like I told Justin, Mark and Elizabeth, but they insisted they were too squeaky to be fine).

My mom asked me if my wishlist was up to date, so that prompted me to spend about an hour on the amazon.com site adding even more stuff. My wishlist is seriously out of control. I am not going to pimp out my wishlist or anything like that, but anytime one of my "real life" friends see it they are astounded by my greed. "Do you really want all of that stuff?!" they exclaim. Why yes, I do. :)

I was shocked to hear that Shaun hadn't heard the classic hip-hop song Overweight Lover by Heavy D. I hope that he isn't the only one that hadn't been exposed to this song? That song brings back happy memories of middle school camping field trips where we'd bring boomboxes and compete with the popular kids for the loudest music on the bus. Heavy D, BellBivDevoe, and Hi-Five were some of our particular favorites. Speaking of which I saw a New Edition video on VH1Soul (I'm telling you, this is the best channel in the world). It was the funniest thing I'd ever seen, particularly since I was so into BellBivDevoe back in the day, and thought Mike, Ronnie and Ricky were such heartthrobs. Well, in their New Edition days they weren't heartthrobs--they were just plain dorks. Sorry guys.

I'm so sad it's Wednesday already. I knew spring break would fly by quickly, but this is ridiculous.

I'm off to eat Korean food. Don't you wish your boyfriend's mom was Korean, too?

previous - next