current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-03-28 - 10:58 a.m.

**********************************

CUSTOMER INFORMATION

To: Midas Corporate Headquarters

**********************************

Questions/Comments:

------------

I just wanted to let you know about the poor customer service I received at this Midas. I took it in for a free brake inspection that I called in for--they were friendly and said to bring it right in. Once there, I noticed that the wall said they charged for brake inspection. I double checked with the receptionist to make sure it really would be free. Once I mentioned that, she was rude from that point on. When we asked how long the inspection would be, she said she "had no idea" in a rude way, then acted like it was a hassle to check. When the mechanic called to tell me that the brakes were fine, he then told me that he did think they needed some sort of dust cleaning for $23.00. I asked him to talk to my boyfriend, since I had no idea what he was talking about. My boyfriend realized he could do that minor bit himself so told the mechanic not to do it.

When we got back to the Midas, I went to the counter to get my car. The receptionist saw me and said dismissively (and rudely), "It's going to be a while!" She didn't mention why it would be a while. At this point another customer came in who was paying for work on her car. The receptionist was very friendly to her and chatted with her the whole time she was paying.

When the mechanic came in with the keys to my car, he went to the computer. The receptionist saw him and said, "Oh, just give me the keys!" She then handed me the keys and said, "Here you go." I said thank you, and she said, "Yep!" Again, there was no politeness at all and she didn't bother to go over any of the stuff looked at on the car with me. I worked in customer service in the past and was taught that you should always thank the customer.

When we left I noticed there were three large grease spots on the passenger seat of my car. I realize that things like that can happen during the course of working on a car, but I have never taken my car in anywhere where I left with a dirty seat before--typically they have some sort of covering to protect the interior of the car. In any case, I think it should have been cleaned off by them.

I just couldn't get over how lousy my treatment was at this Midas. While I realize I was not a paying customer (is it my fault that my brakes ended up being fine?), I thought the whole point of giving those free inspections was to keep the customer wanting to come back. Had I received better treatment, I would have come back in the future. Instead I was given the attitude that since I was not paying this time I was not a real customer and didn't deserve to be treated with respect. I can't believe that I was more polite to the receptionist than she was to me, and I was supposedly the customer!

I also wonder if my treatment had anything to do with my age. I am 24 and my boyfriend is as well, so perhaps the receptionist stereotyped me from the beginning. I don't think this is acceptable, however, because I have a decent job as an English teacher and make as much money as many other adults. I also frequently have to go to car repair places since I do have a crappy (insert crappy car brand here). My money is as good as anyone else's.

I would urge your company to take on the tactic of one of your competitors--Les Schwab. They offer free services as well, such as free flat tire repair, and they have even rotated my tires for free when I thought I would be paying for the service. They are always friendly and happy to help and they don't care that they are not getting paid this time. They know that their customer service will bring people back. I plan to purchase my next set of tires there because I know that all of the free services I have received will even out any higher prices I have to pay there. I like how they treat me with courtesy and respect.

I have talked to other people who have gone to this particular Midas as well and have received crappy service because they have gone for a free inspection. Mark _____ and Jason _____, both friends of mine, mentioned that they were treated badly. Apparently the $23.00 they wanted me to pay for a service that my boyfriend could do was worth more than losing a future customer.

I would appreciate some sort of response about this matter.



That's the letter I sent to Midas. I got the idea from Nicole who has written letters in the past to companies where she was treated poorly. Anyway, they called me this morning and apologized. The manager totally defended the receptionist and said he didn't know what was going on since she was usually great with customers. He did think it was uncool that she just said, "Yep!" when I said thanks and didn't bother to go over the invoice with me--I didn't know until he called that I wouldn't have to do anything to my brakes for at least another year. Anyway, he offered to pay to have my seats cleaned because he was outraged at the grease spots. When I told him I already had Justin do it he offered me a free oil change there and he would also send the copy of the invoice about the brakes too. So anyway, I felt pretty satisfied about that outcome. I still probably won't go there, but at least they respond right away to pissed off customers. I know maybe it was a big waste of time on my part, but I thought it was nice to vent my anger.

Anyway, I have to go start doing stuff for school now. I'm not too happy about it, but it would be so nice to actually feel on top of things for once, so I'm going to try to force myself into it.

previous - next