current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-08-31 - 6:10 p.m.

I went to the library that is a little bit farther from my house--I realized that it was newer and nicer, so I thought I would give it a try. My library visit was super organized, too, because I looked up the books I wanted online at home and wrote the locations down. I love the Internet. I also ended up checking out some random CDs, such as Death Cab for Cutie, Lisa Loeb, and a three set of rhythm and soul hits. I wasn't sure if you could check out as many as you wanted, but I asked and they said you could have up to 500 items out of any kind. I was like ?!?!! Who knew?

I have four new books to read now, too. I have been really weird about reading lately. Maybe I just haven't found the right book, but I haven't finished or gotten into any books since Fast Food Nation. I am reading one book that's pretty good, but it is a teaching book. Hopefully one of my new books will be good. The books that I would definitely not recommend were the ones that I couldn't get into: Normal Girl by Molly Jong-Fast, who is the daughter of Erica Jong. This book sucked. I also disliked Confessions of a Sociopathic Social Climber, and I couldn't get through either of them. So make sure to avoid those.

I didn't sign up for the national do-not-call list. As annoying as phone solicitors are, I read a convincing argument in The Oregonian about how the do-not-call list will add to the horrible economic problems we're having. If half of the people in the United States sign up for the do-not-call list, that results in a huge loss of jobs. It was also interesting to note that a huge amount of the people who are telemarketers are single mothers, minorities, and people who have recently gotten off of welfare. What will happen to the people who lose their jobs? I couldn't find the article online to link to, but I thought it was really interesting. Besides, I've had enough fun phone solicitor calls that it's almost worth it to stay on the list.

I'm going to attempt to make Asian Chicken salad because we have a potluck on Tuesday at school. I have to bring a salad. I am going to try it out on Justin first and see how it goes. I am becoming increasingly confident about my cooking abilities because I made biscuits and gravy yesterday morning and enchiladas the other day.

I have been busy the last few days just hanging out with friends. I had a lousy time on Thursday because I had been looking forward to seeing Mark and Elizabeth, but Justin and I ended up getting into a fight and everyone was all tired out from their fun day at the river without me. So no one really wanted to do anything fun. We also went to a restaurant and Justin got food poisoning. I called and asked if anyone else reported getting sick, but they said no. They also are sending us a free gift certificate, which was really nice.

I got some white rabbit candies and I can't stop eating them. They are so good! I love the Cost Plus World Market. I also went and tried on jeans at the Gap, and found a really cute pair. I was annoyed at them, though, because they had this deal where you could try on a pair of jeans and then get $10.00 off your purchase of $50.00 or more. The jeans I wanted were $49.50. I was so disgusted that I didn't buy them.

Oh, Friday night was fun because my cousin came over. Since my cousin and my mom hadn't seen each other in a few years, we all went out to dinner. When we got back to my apartment we ended up using all of the new stuff to make drinks. I have never ever drank with my mom. Anyway, we made her a lemon drop, a rasberry martini, and a mojito. She was really funny because she really liked the drinks and was having a lot of fun. My mom rarely ever drinks, and if she does it is either beer or whiskey. I don't think she has really had girly drinks, and she was just so into them. We had a lot of fun playing darts. We also finally got the mojito recipe right, and now I know how to make the world's best drink! Oh, we also made kamikazes, which I love.

My cousin and I are pretty close, but she is also one of the closest people that I have to having a sister in the real sense of how you think sisters would be. I don't know if that makes sense. Anyway, she can get on my nerves sometimes because she is kind of a know-it-all. She is a smart girl but she is also competitive, and it really bothers me. I'm not competitive at all. I'm more likely to say that I am wrong even if I know for a fact that I am right about something. So sometimes I have a hard time dealing with it. I think she is insecure in a different way than I am, and being smart is her way of feeling good. It was good to spend time with her, though.

I'm still in denial that I have to go back to school. I am thinking more and more that I would like to be a middle school counselor instead of teacher. I don't know if I will actually pursue this, but I really love kids and want to work with them in some way, but I don't really love all of the lesson planning and grading. I don't mind it when my creative juices are flowing, but when they aren't...

Well, I hope this year isn't too much like being brand new again. Who knows how it will be? I guess I will know soon!

previous - next