current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-04-15 - 11:12 p.m.

I just wanted to write a few minutes before I go to bed. I have definitely been neglecting my writing lately...

I spent most of yesterday grading papers but was able to finish up and luckily discovered that grade printouts were pretty bad. We had a makeup day, which was helpful to me, since I didn't have much time to come up with a good lesson plan for the sophomores. The kids, for the most part, used their time wisely. I did notice lovely stacks of papers to be graded in the previously empty turn-in boxes. I felt so good about being caught up and now I have to do it all over again. :) I graded everything except the senior essay tests. One of the parts of the character analysis question for Emma was to write what they imagined their character looked like. One kid wrote that he imagined Emma looked very much like Ms. Boombastic: tall, thin, good-looking, with nice teeth (?) That cracked me up because I have always disliked my teeth, and also because I think he was trying to improve his score by writing I was thin. Don't worry, I only gave him ten extra credit points for that! Just kidding.

The essay tests have actually turned out better than expected. I was really pleased with them.

Tomorrow is testing for the sophomores, so I'm sort of glad about that. I have to give the tests, but it is always nice when they are quietly working. They are just so loud in general, even when they are all working, especially second period (although they are better since I gave them a seating chart). Sometimes they give me a big headache.

I'm actually feeling fairly good in general, and am hoping this will be a good week. Oh, did I mention that my seven year anniversary with Justin is coming up? I can't believe it! Goodnight.

previous - next