current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-09-07 - 4:45 p.m.

Here's to hoping the power doesn't go out...after ten billion years (it seems) of hot!!!! weather, we've got a thunderstorm and rain. It actually feels like a relief, and I'm a rain-hater. Welcome back to Oregon.

My first week of school went really, really well. I have only had two actual days of students, but they seem very polite and sweet. Some of them are extremely small. None of them are complainers so far. The only problem I've had so far is with the insane fire drill procedures, so my homeroom type class will be hearing it from me on Monday. We are going to practice all period if we have to because our fire drill skills were completely lacking, and I was downright embarrassed. I also am the safety committee person, which means I have to have a walkie-talkie and be all important. If I had known about the walkie-talkie, I would not have been so quick to sign up.

I am constantly amazed by how many procedures there are in middle school. There wasn't a procedure for ANYTHING at the high school level. I'm learning it all...

I love my co-workers. I couldn't believe how many people just came in to say hi or wish me good luck on the first day. I rarely ever had anyone come into my room to talk to me at my old school. Even the principal came in to wish me good luck (and there are almost twenty new teachers at our school!) I thought it was very sweet.

I went to a party at a co-worker's house on Friday night. He was hillarious and I had a good time. Justin went, too, and we both had numerous cocktails. It was nice getting to know people a little bit better. Don't worry, I didn't get too trashed. I always feel better when I go to a teacher's house and see it is a beautiful home. Maybe someday I will actually be able to have a beautiful home, too.

I have to start planning. I promised myself I would be better, but here it is Sunday night and I am waiting until the last minute to plan my week. Ugh, ugh, ugh.

My brother and sister came over last night and I had a really good time with them. I was so happy to see them.

Justin is in Corvallis, and this is the first time since we moved in together that we have been apart for the night. It feels weird, and it also feels weird that that feels weird. Does that make sense? I keep congratulating myself for adjusting to this so easily. I'm so happy right now, though.

The kids? There are so many of them, and I don't know their names. I hate that feeling. I know the names of the ones that stick out, of course, but not all of them. There are three Johns and I can picture them all in my head, except for one. I have more diversity than at my old school--or more apparent diversity. My last school was all white and native american, but you couldn't tell who was native american at first because a lot of them looked white. Now I have a more diverse mix.

I like middle schoolers, I really do. I can't wait to see what happens this year.

previous - next