current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-01-11 - 9:18 p.m.

I am supposed to be working, but what else is new? How have I gotten this far considering what a slacker I am? I am the worst, because I am able to get myself to do just enough to get by, but rarely am able to get myself to do anything to get ahead. For example, I did a bunch of grading over break/snow days. I didn't do all of it. Most importantly, I avoided the stack of papers that I have to grade and CIM score. You would think that after this long of being an English teacher I would have some sort of system for grading the big papers. I don't, so I look at them and panic, and put off grading them. And then they start asking about them so much that I rush through and do a horrible job. And the cycle continues. Anyway, I didn't do that. I also only have Monday and part of Tuesday planned out. Since I know that I have that done, I feel like I don't have to do the rest of the week. It always feels so good when I do the rest of the week in advance, but something about myself won't let me! At least next year (cross your fingers) I will ACTUALLY BE TEACHING THE SAME THING, so I can use what I did this year (except for the things that failed miserably, of course). I do have a general idea of what I want to do for the next few weeks, but putting it down on paper would be nice.

I don't know if I have ever commented on this cultural craziness that is The Lord of the Rings. The fact that I could have said LOTR and you would have known what I am talking about is my worst nightmare. What I hate the most about this is that everyone, even cool people, are totally into it. EVERYONE I know has seen these or wants to see these, even my usual fellow playa-haters (like Elizabeth) have seen them. Normally this would be something like Star Trek or Star Wars where we all laugh at the nerds. Everyone laughs at the nerds who get dressed up with elf ears, but everyone still sweats (there's my old school slang!) them with a capital S. What is up? I saw the first one and I didn't know what the hell was going on and it was long and boring and I hated it. But apparently it is the best thing ever in life and everyone loves it and the second is better than the first and the third is better than the second and it is just THE BEST THING! And I am the only one who is like, "Um, yeah, I hate that movie." Where are my fellow haters? Why am I the only one?

I'm actually sort of looking forward to school. I think school would be a lot better if I could just get there at 10 A.M. The only thing I really hate about my job is getting up at 6 A.M. Oh, yeah, and the kids. No, just playing.

I don't remember if I mentioned this, but Liz Phair is returning to Portland in March. I can't wait!!! I think I am going to go with my sister's best friend. She (her friend) is really nice and has the sweetest voice I have ever heard. For some reason I am really into voices--like there is this girl that works at the Taco Bell drive-thru and I have had the hardest time restraining myself from complimenting her on her speaking voice. She has the nicest voice, but I always think she's going to think I am so weird if I tell her. So I never do.

Justin got this calendar from the Asian Market the other day. It's really weird, because normally they have scenery or Asian artwork. Well, this time it is just pictures of Korean food. So this calendar basically just makes you hungry. Even worse, I can't stop staring at it.

Okay, I think I'm going to go stare at my school work now. I know I'm not going to do it, so I might as well acknowledge that I'm just going to look at it.

previous - next