current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-09-04 - 4:05 p.m.

Justin called me last night and said he was down at Mark and Elizabeth's and they were all drinking forties (!) Whatever, homies. It sucks being the only one back in school.

I had an okay day, although it was rather hectic getting back into the swing of things. I was giving the kids ten million different things today (folders, etc.) and giving them instructions on it. That's one thing that takes a little bit of getting used to about teaching--how many times you have to repeat everything for everyone to understand what you expect. I was actually really pleasantly surprised at how comfortable I was with the kids. I was nervous before school started, but once it was going I wasn't nervous anymore.

I think my second period seniors may be a challenge. In both of my senior classes there are boys that are going to be loud. These classes are big. My total number of kids this year is 175, which seems just outrageous to me. The year before it was around 140, I think. I can't even begin to imagine what grading is going to be like.

The little boy that I mentioned yesterday--well I looked at his card and his handwriting and spelling are just awful. I wonder if he's on an IEP, and wonder if that might be why he is such an angry young man. I guess we'll see.

There only seemed to be one snotty kid so far--a senior girl. Hopefully she won't be too bad. A lot of the seniors I knew a tiny bit from the hallways and around school, or they knew me, so already I feel most comfortable with them. With the big classes, though, I am just worried about getting them quiet when I'm talking. The sophomores look for your approval more than seniors, so it's easier with them.

I finally came up with the idea for the hall passes. I made them each a sheet of hall passes to staple in their journal. There are enough that they can leave once a week. But I am giving significant extra credit points for each one that they don't use. They seemed to like the idea, so I hope it works. I'm so sick of kids wanting to leave class for whatever reason, so this is a more positive way of doing it (I guess).

So far the freshmen are well-behaved, but I think they are just scared about being in high school. They are pretty cute and I think I will like them.

It is completely and totally exhausting. By lunchtime I was ready to take a nap.

I'm eating my favorite thing in the world--those laughing cow cheeses and wheat thins. I am seriously addicted to it, which is why I try not to buy it too often.

I already have a few favorite kids. Ssssssh.

previous - next