current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-04-01 - 7:25 p.m.

I got my Freaks and Geeks Special Collectors Edition in the mail yesterday. It is so awesome, but I can't watch it until I finish watching My So-Called Life. I have three episodes left. I watched one last night, and it was the one where Ricky was homeless and the gay teacher is afraid of taking him in, but at the end he does. Of course I cried about twenty times, because that is the best show ever. It is so avant garde and relevant and real. I love it how they actually have Angela wear some of the same clothes more than once, you know what I mean? I love the part, also, where Brian is totally freaking out about how Jordan Catalano went and got the phone number for him. Why is Jordan Catalano SO COOL?!?!?! Why is Jordan Catalano a fictional character and not real, because he just feels SO REAL!

I read The Deep End of the Ocean in one day last weekend. I can't remember the last time I read a book that fast, but it was a page-turner. I had some issues with parts of the book, but overall I thought it was a pretty good book. I usually like Oprah books, with the exception of Icy Sparks. I'm not ashamed of any books I read--who cares if it is popular fiction, right? I would be ashamed if I read trashy romance novels, but I don't.

I don't mind saying this. I can never get tired of the song "Stacy's Mom." I will love it forever and that ain't no joke.

Elizabeth made me a copy of Maroon 5. The weirdest thing is that it reminds me of Justin Timberlake, even though they are supposedly different genres. Hmmm. I wonder if anyone else has made this connection, or if I am just ahead of my time? The song that I really love is the popular one that is #2 on the CD, because I am unoriginal.

I wish I could get into The O.C.. That night I got into the fight with my cousin I told her the entire premise of the show (she doesn't have a TV), including a description of how when Ryan came to the O.C. he kept getting in fights with people and they kept telling him, "You're in the O.C. now, bitch!" Is that true, or is that something that I made up in my head? I've only seen the show about three times. I just can't understand why I don't love it. I want to love it, but I am just not feeling it.

For my homeroom class we have to have these weird moral lessons two times a week. The thing that I was doing with them was driving me crazy, and they hated it, too. Finally I decided to have them make these books that the other teacher is making, and they are SO HAPPY now. I think this is going to be a lot better...so the moral of the story is what I have learned so many times as a teacher. Have them do something really, really dreadful. Something that they will complain about every day (for example, read Emma by Jane Austen). Something that will make everyone feel like it is the worst class ever. Then, introduce something new. THEY WILL LOVE IT! The problem, of course, is you never know what they will hate until you try it. Then you go through the period of "I'm a failure as a teacher," when you lament the fact that they hate something that you thought was a good idea. Don't worry about it, it just makes everything else you ever teach look great by comparison. As you know, the year I taught Emma everything else after that was, "How did you like that story?" "It's BETTER THAN Emma!"

Tomorrow is Friday! What am I teaching next week? Who knows.

previous - next