current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-04-10 - 4:01 p.m.

I had a really good day yesterday. It started out with me going with some other teachers downtown. The kids had a half day, and the eighth grade teachers needed to practice for an upcoming field trip. I am counting it as exercise since we walked all over downtown.

Things have been good overall with the kids, except on Wednesday I had some drama with this eighth grade girl that has drama with virtually everyone. She is in a group of girls that is constantly getting into problems with other girls, partly because they talk way too much smack about other people. Anyway, there have been a few near fights on our team, and the "popular" faction on our team is now at war with these girls. Anyway, lucky me, I had all of them in my elective (which is thankfully over now due to the new term). So there had been a lot of visits to the counselor, and my usual advice-that-does-no-good (because eighth grade girls are basically living in an alternate universe). Well, the group of girls that is constantly having problems with other people had another little incident with another girl in the class. I simply said that she should not be rude to other people, and then went to check out her claims about what the other girl did a little bit later. So right before it was time to leave, one of the girls started talking about ME and how I always said stuff to them when they did something wrong, but never to the other girls. She went on to say that maybe she should just go talk to the vice principal about how unfair I am. She did all this knowing that I could hear her. It made me feel like crap, and it also made me mad. I ended up talking to her and three of her friends during the passing time, and while I tried to stay calm (I repeatedly said that I was not going to get involved in their drama), it was difficult and upsetting. I basically left the situation feeling completely angry. No one wants a group of eighth graders talking about them! However, after complaining to anyone and everyone who would listen, the next day she wrote me a very sweet apology note and left it on my desk.

Yesterday was also a good day because I got to hang out with my sister Madison and her best friend (the one I went to the concert with). It was just so nice hanging out with girls again. I rarely just go out with girl friends, since I don't really have very many anymore. It was really fun! We ended up going to three different bars, but we were very good about not drinking too much (I had a total of about 3 1/2 to 4 drinks). I need to be more responsible about pacing myself in the future, because I had a better time without being stupid drunk. I also had a really good conversation with Madison about having new family members and all of that. I think I said the phrase, "You know what I mean?" about twenty times, though, which really annoyed me because this teacher at my school CONSTANTLY says that (I was sitting with him at lunch, so I think I picked it up) and it really bothers me. I think it is one of those phrases that you can't help, but it drives me crazy. I will try to stop that bad habit! The main thing about the conversation that I thought was interesting was how things would be different if they had known about me all along, or if I had contacted them earlier. It's something that I think about sometimes, but I try not to think about it because there is no way to change how things are, and things turned out pretty well overall the way that they worked out.

Anyway, I really did have a great time hanging out with the two of them. Girls are so much more fun to talk to than boys sometimes, just because they just get it.

The only drawback about today and yesterday is that I am having major stomach pains! I know it wasn't from the alcohol. I think part of it might be because I had pizza for lunch and dinner yesterday, but I almost feel like I have food poisoning or something. I had a healthy sub from Subway today, with no cheese or any fattening stuff on it, and it hurt my stomach, too. So I don't know what the deal is. I hate feeling sick.

I got my mom and Justin some Easter stuff, but I didn't get baskets, I got little toy buckets. They are really cute. I doubt Justin will think to get me anything, which is kind of annoying, although it is not like Easter is a couples holiday.

On Monday I start my new elective which is going to be so much fun. Basically we are just going to sit around playing board games all period. I got it from another teacher on my team, and it will be a nice switch because there are more boys than girls. I love the girls, but I think I have an easier time getting along with the boys.

My online radio station is playing one of my all-time favorite songs "Let's Chill" by Guy. That one probably was on my answering machine at one time or another.

I had better get off the computer because we are having such a beautiful day outside.

previous - next