current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-04-20 - 6:38 p.m.

I read one of the worst books ever, In the Cut by Susanna Moore. Oh, it was bad. I would give it a big fat one star. It was the worst book that I have ever kept reading. It was so frustrating because the ending sucked, too. It was also weird because I know it was made into a Meg Ryan movie, and I just can't fathom how anyone would have chosen this book to make into a movie. It is so not a book that would make a good movie. It is such a weird book, too. Anyway, I am dying to see the movie. I checked, and Entertainment Weekly gave both the book and the movie F's. It is probably pointless to see the movie, but I am curious.

Things have been good. We went to our Mariners game in Seattle, and had a good time overall. The hotel was nice, dinner at the Cheesecake Factory was fun, and I even went in the hottub. I am glad that we went. I was sick the whole weekend, but I managed to survive. I am still sick, but am starting to feel better. I got this crazy vitamin fizz stuff in Seattle that I used to have when I was little. You put it into water and it fizzes and tastes good. Anyway, I have been taking that every day and I think it has really helped. I am usually sick for a long time, but I seem to be on the road to recovery.

My kiddies have been very good. They are working on a paper right now, and are actually pretty into it. I say that they are into it because they have had more than one session where they have written quietly and contentedly for over forty minutes. This must be some sort of record, and it is not something I could EVER accomplish at the high school level (without death threats at least). Even my "bad" class has been good, and I use the quotation marks because that class has turned around. I can't figure out why at all, but I'm not complaining.

Next week we will be testing again, so basically I have May to plan for and a tiny bit of June. I have an overview of what I am doing, too, which is always helpful. I've made much better, more detailed lesson plans than usual, so I can just duplicate it all next year (except for the stuff that sucked, which I am not ever doing again).

My mom got a new job, which I am so happy about. It is exactly the type of job she wanted and should be good at. I am always worried about her because she is one of those people who is talented in so many areas, has so many degrees, and is constantly trying new projects. This leads to her constantly wanting some new type of job or project to make her happy. I am hoping this job will be it, but the only drawback is the money because she is not making as much as she was at one time. Hopefully she will love it enough to make it be worth it. I want her to be happy. The next thing I really hope happens for her is that she make some new friends and possibly even a love interest. The love interest part really scares me, but I would definitely like to see her happy. Now that I am grown up and on my own it would be even better. I just feel like for so long she has done everything for me and revolved around me (that's what single parents do), but she is now left with not very much outside of that because of doing that for so long. So...hopefully this will happen.

I am reading a really interesting book right now: What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal by Zoe Heller. It is one of those British authors, but it is different than the Bridget Jones genre. It is about a woman who observes her fellow teacher who is 42 have an affair with a 15 year old. It is really interesting. I can't wait to finish it and see what happens.

I'm off...

previous - next