current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

15 December 2002 - 3:48 PM

I watched one of my favorite movies a few days ago. Have you seen Love Jones? I love that movie SO MUCH! Larenz Tate is so incredibly adorable. I love his poem for Nina. I love the music. I just love that movie.

Poetry has been going well, especially with the younger kids. The seniors aren't as good about it. They finish their poems quickly, then waste the rest of the period talking. There's not much I can say to them about it, since they ARE done. A few cool things have happened. My freshman Skater Boy #2 was dismayed to find that we were doing poetry. He said he didn't want to do this poetry crap. Well, day one, he DID write his two lines for our class poems. Day two, his friend Skater Boy #1 convinced him to write a poem with him (I allowed them to do partners). Day three I asked them if I could read their poem to the class and they said yes. I read it, and everyone laughed, which they liked (it was supposed to be funny, and did have a funny/clever ending). So then, on day three, Skater Boy #2 and another kid (Skater Boys #1 and #3 were both out suspended) got together to write a poem and he came up to me excitedly to say, "Ms. Boombastic, read our poem, it's so cool. You can read it to the class tomorrow with our names!" Now the poem was not that great, all about a guy being chased by killer dogs, but his being excited over a POEM he wrote was priceless.

Another nice poetry moment happened with seventh period. One of my girls is reading a book that I've read before, and we both love the book. After the kids got started with their poetry assignment she said, "Ms. Boombastic, there's a really cool poem in this book that I wanted you to read to the class." She showed it to me, and I read it to myself. I asked her if she wanted to share it, but she was too shy. So I interrupted the class and told them that she wanted me to share this poem with them. I read it, and everyone was entranced, and said how good/sad/depressing the poem was. It was just so cool having a kid bring a poem they wanted everyone to hear, and seeing the other kids reacting so positively. I was really pleased.

Justin and I had a really great weekend. He came on Thursday and we made Baked Ziti, which was pretty good (I found a fairly simple recipe online). Friday after school he brought me a butterscotch sundae, which is my favorite and we worked on grading. He sometimes helps me with grading stuff, which is SO NICE. I am almost caught up now. Then we went to dinner at KFC, which was kind of gross, but we wanted to try something new. We also rented Ice Age. That was SUCH a good movie. I cried three separate times, so you know it had to be good. Justin thinks I am the biggest baby. I was surprised at how good it was, and now I want to own it. I even liked it better than Monster's Inc. (although I still like Shrek better). Then on Saturday he helped me clean my house and weatherproof my windows. It is a lot warmer in here now that that is done. I am really glad he did it. We also watched Al Gore host Saturday Night Live, which I thought was extremely funny. My favorite skit was with him, Tipper, and Stuart Smalley. I thought it was cute.

I finished a few books. Best Friends by Martha Moody was pretty good (but very long). It was about these two friends, and the novel followed them from college to their forties. It was also interesting because it was by a doctor, and the main character is a doctor working with AIDs patients. I haven't really read a novel from a doctor's point of view before. The other book was just an Ann Rule book, Empty Promises. The main case was about this woman, Jamie Sherer, whose husband murdered her. The reason it was interesting was because I remember seeing the missing posters for her while waiting for the bus when I was younger. Almost all of Ann Rule's books take place in the Pacific Northwest, so there are always mentions of towns that I have been to. That's always really intriguing to me.

I'm really not feeling into Christmas shopping. I have no idea what to get anyone (I bought one gift). I know Justin wants cologne, but I have no idea what else to get him. I don't know who all I should shop for, and at last check, I have $1.98 in my checking account. Since I live in Hicksville, USA, it's not easy to get to a mall. I could shop online, but it might be too late. So...I'm just not into it.

I'm actually NOT dreading school tomorrow, although I need to go in today to get some handouts ready, and finish grading. Other teachers get there earlier than we have to be there (which is 25 minutes before the kids get there), but I can't get myself to do it. I wish I was a morning person.

Well, I have to head over to school now. Hope everyone else had a great weekend. One week until vacation! :)

previous - next