current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-05-03 - 5:25 p.m.

I had a fabulous day. All week has been rather fabulous. The seniors have been happy, the sophomores have been angels, and everything is going remarkably well for being May.

It's so funny how much the seniors seem to enjoy anything that I would probably normally give to the sophomores to do. The seniors are LOVING found poems so much and are so enthusiastic over reading short stories. The sophomores are the ones that normally do stuff like found poems and short stories, and the sophomores don't love short stories very much at all. Anyway, it is nice having the seniors peppy again, instead of their usual whiny selves. I had such a good time in all three classes today. It's nice when they are working on something (and actually working, not just chatting all period) and I can go around and talk to them about whatever and just relax and enjoy them. I had so many good and funny conversations with the kids today. They love asking me about Justin so we talked a little bit about him and how long we've been together and all of that stuff in one of my classes. With another class we talked about the movie Pearl Harbor and whether it was acceptable that Kate Beckinsale got together with Josh Hartnett after Ben Affleck supposedly died. I think it is perfectly acceptable, even though Josh and Ben were best friends in the movie. If I died and Justin got together with my best friend in the process of grieving over me, I would have no problem with that. I'm not there, so I want him to be happy. Well, the guys in my class had a huge problem with this, as did Justin when he watched it. Justin could not get over this the entire movie when we watched it together. I guess it's just a guy thing. The other issue is that any woman would want to get together with Josh Hartnett, even if she was grieving, because he is the hottest man on the planet.

The other thing that was nice was that this was the last day of state writing testing and the sophomores were still being perfect angels that did not talk at all when normally they can't keep their lips shut. It was only supposed to be for three days, but so many weren't done that we had to draw it out to a fourth day. I told first period how much I appreciated how tolerant they've been of the testing and how quiet they've been. Then, at the end of the period I gave them suckers. Well, I don't know how second period found this out. But I gave them the same talk about how much I appreciated them at the beginning of the period. Then they were very good, but I forgot about the candy. They were all crowded by the door waiting for the bell to ring and I heard, "I don't know, you ask her!" and then Jason asked in a confused and sad voice, "Ms. Boombastic, how come we didn't get any suckers?" It was so cute I wanted to die. I said, "OH! I'll give you suckers, too!" They were very pleased. I honestly just forgot and I felt bad.

I'm so frustrated with the fact that every single good idea for a present to get my mom for mother's day doesn't exist on video. I thought I might get a set of the TV show I'll Fly Away since she loved that show. No, doesn't exist. Then there was this old movie with Montgomery Clift that she made me watch on TV because it was such a great movie, called The Search. Nope, not on tape. Then there is this movie that we watched three times in the theater when I was nine, a Disney movie with John Cusack called The Journey of Natty Gann. Nope, out of print. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

I'm adding more and more things to my potentially-going-on-my-resume file. I am now going to be a "lead teacher" for my building which means I have to educate them about the curriculum guide and the textbook adoption materials. I am a little frightened, but think I will do okay. I have to go to three more meetings, two of which are in August. We'll see how it is.

My stomach has been out of control hurting lately. I keep leaving my water bottles at school so I haven't been drinking very much water lately. I am really ashamed of myself.

previous - next