current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-04-28 - 9:17 p.m.

I watched part of The Virgin Suicides today. I really love that movie. I am thinking about getting the soundtrack, but am not completely sure. I put the book and the DVD on my wishlist. You know I love Kirsten Dunst, and I think this is one of her best movies. One of the things I like best about her is her teeth. I like how she has that one stick-out tooth. I have one of those, too. I just like that. The other good thing about this movie is that it has Josh Hartnett and I think he looks completely adorable with that weird seventies hairdo.

I got this nice email from a girl/woman? named Katherine. She mentioned that she liked my journal and gave me some advice on Disneyworld. Thank you very much, Katherine! I love getting email. The only reason I didn't answer privately is because the email my diaryland account forwards to has my full, real name on it and you can never be too careful, I guess. I think I need to get a new email account.

I'm pretty content with my lesson plans for tomorrow but I have to go in early to get some things copied and such. I hate having to go in early on Monday morning because inevitably I don't wake up early and then I have to rush in a panic and try to fight for the copy machine and get all stressed out. I never am not ready when it's time to begin, but I always think I won't be and freak out. This is basically only a Monday thing because all the other days I can get my copies and such ready the day before. I just didn't want to go in AGAIN and try to deal with the alarm system.

I have to mow my lawn tomorrow by myself and am pretty nervous about that. I know that is really pathetic. I feel guilt-ridden about reading my new young feminism book when I am being so anti-feminist with my unable-to-deal-with-the-lawn-or-my-car-issues-by-myself crap. I need to get it together.

The good news is that I am possibly going on YET ANOTHER trip this summer. I actually have enough money saved that I can afford it. Cassandra is graduating from her master's program and her parents are going to send her to Hawaii for graduation (She has gone through A LOT of crap this year, she's not just spoiled. This is more of a feel-better present than anything.) They suggested that we go together. So we are going to. I have never been there, and neither has she, so this should be so much fun for us. We have such a good time together no matter what we do. This is also good motivation for my get-in-shape-girl-mantra. We'll see. I'm sure we won't be the only fat-white-tourists there. But anyway, I am sooooo excited over this trip. I am not sure what Island we are going to but we know we want to go snorkeling. I keep having these visions of the three part Brady Bunch Hawaii trip so hopefully we won't encounter a giant tarantula like Peter Brady did.

Somewhere in there I have to get my wisdom teeth out, too, so I have to plan it wisely. I am really scared. I'm thinking about doing it right after I get out of school. I'm just hoping my dentist still qualifies under our new insurance plan, because I like him a lot. He was telling me stories about Hello Kitty because of my purse. I feel like he would not mess up my wisdom teeth pullage, but I am not so trusting of other dentists.

There are about seven more weeks until school gets out, five until the seniors graduate. The seniors are nutso right now and I will be somewhat pleased to let them go. I am doing short stories with them for the next few weeks. I was going to go straight into the Victorians but I figured they needed a little modern break. If we don't get to the Victorians, we don't get to them. I love the Victorians but I know no matter how I play it right now they will not love them. If I give them a little break maybe they will be more up for them a little later.

Wednesday I am at a meeting all day. It's a good thing too because we are having this navy band coming that day, and it is against my personal beliefs to have this be a required assembly. I am glad that I don't have to attend. In our staff meeting the majority of the teachers didn't have a problem with this as a required assembly, there were only two others that agreed with me. I know that the army and navy are personal choices, etc. I just worry about eighteen year old kids signing their lives away--and in these times they really could be signing their lives away. They are SO YOUNG right now. They aren't even to be trusted to legally drink yet, but they are old enough to decide that they want to kill people and be killed? It just scares me to think of my students doing this. Another teacher made the point that we can't protect them from the real world forever, which is valid, but we don't have to endorse it either--and I feel an assembly like this is a silent endorsement.

You know, the thing about a public diary is that you realize that you might piss people off by things that you say. I'm not trying to say that anyone that joins the military is bad. I know people have valid reasons for joining. I know people that I like and respect that have been in the military. But I do have issues with this assembly, and with recruiters pulling my kids out of class to give them another "Come join the military even though you made it clear you're not interested" peptalk.

Enough about that. I cheated on my diet. I guess it's not really a diet as much as it is an attempt to eat more healthy food. I've been doing pretty well at eating more fruit and all of that. I seem to have run out of fruit, however, and in it's absence managed to get the most delicious pizza ever. This place called Figaro's has this really good pizza and it's really cheap. I don't know if i got a sale without knowing it, but I got a large pepperoni and tomato pizza for $8.99 (it is a dollar more if you want them to cook it for you, which I did). I have never had this combo of topping before, but it was the best decision ever. It was sooooooooooooooo good. I know it might seem like overkill because the sauce is made from tomatoes, but it was so great. I would highly recommend it.

That's the problem with diets. They make you even more insane about food and make you enjoy the bad food even more.

Okay, I'm off to read. I really need to spend less time online and more time reading.

previous - next