current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-04-27 - 10:04 p.m.

Let me tell you about my favorite commercial. It's one of those Saturn Spring Sales Event commercials. This guy is sitting in the car he's planning on buying, and the car salesman is standing next to him. He says, "The ladies are really going to love me in this car, huh?" and then the salesman says that what women think about a man's car is vastly overrated--what's important is what's in here (pointing to the guy's heart) and in here (pointing to the guy's head). It cracks me up every time.

I'm home alone on a Saturday night but I don't feel too bad about it. We had a half day for conferences yesterday, so after calling the parents of the 19 seniors who are currently failing my class (and will not graduate if they don't get it up), I left at about 1:30. It was nice leaving early. I also went over to file a default judgement against my former landlord. Because he never responded to the small claim, it was found in my favor and now I am officially owed over $1,000. I don't think that I'm going to see that money, but I talked to them about filing a lein against his property, and it didn't sound too difficult. If I knew where he worked I could garnish his wages, but I don't have any idea.

So I ended up going over to Justin's after that and we just hung out. We ended up going to Target and Emporium. I got these cute new pants for exercising--they look like track pants sort of. I also got some flowers to plant so maybe I will have some flowers before next year. Then today we ended up going to this Chinese Buffet place for lunch and also to Borders. I got this new book called Manifesta: Young Women, Feminism and the Future which looks pretty good and was recommended to me. I haven't started it yet. I am reading Counting Coup right now, by Larry Colton, which is a really great book. Basically it's about this guy, Larry, who decided to go to the Crow Reservation in Montana because he wanted to write a book about the boy's basketball team there. Well, he ended up meeting this girl, Sharon, on the girl's team, and decided the story was there. So that's what the book is about. I've gotten really interested in anything about Indians/Native Americans ever since I moved here, since many of my kids are Indians. They call themselves Indians so I'm not sure if it is politically correct for me to do so as well or what.

I had a really great time with Justin and I kind of wish that I had stayed there another night. I came back out of guilt. Prom was tonight so I went up to the school (the kids have it in the gym by choice--they decorate it so much that it no longer looks like the gym) to stop by and see the decorations. The only problem was that it was extremely dark so I couldn't see much of anything. I have terrible night vision. I ended up leaving pretty quickly, so that was sort of pointless. I just wanted to be able to say that I had stopped by. Those kids that I could see looked very cute. While I was up there I decided to get some exercise in, so I walked/ran two miles around the track. It was kind of nice to be out in the cool air. I didn't run that much, because whenever I run I feel like I am going to die, but I guess that's okay. The only thing I don't like about the track is that it brings back nightmares from PE my freshman year of high school. No one hated PE more than I did. We had to run the mile every Wednesday, and I always came in last.

If anyone is wondering, I never actually sent the letter to my father. I still plan on doing it, but for some reason I just chickened out. I hopefully will send it soon.

previous - next