current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-04-25 - 10:05 p.m.

I don't know about you, but I really loved yesterday's episode of Felicity. I am a little weirded out by the next episodes being, "What would have happened if..." but we'll see how that goes.

I have been eating extremely healthy. I'm trying to do the low-fat thing again and I have resisted FOUR temptations already. Yesterday our principal's wife brought cookies for us, and I didn't eat even one, then today we had doughnuts for our breakfast thing before the staff meeting and I ate my low-fat cottage cheese and banana instead, then at lunch we went out to lunch and I had the low-fattest thing possible (vegetable chicken soup and half a turkey sandwich with no mayo or cheese), and at dinner another teacher wanted to order a pizza and I declined. They also offered me a piece when they did order it and I declined again. This is pitiful, I know, but I'm trying to congratulate myself on what a good job I'm doing. I didn't exercise though.

So Day 1 of conferences is done. I got thirty parents and some of them are ones I really needed to see, but I still have a list of parents I need to call if they don't come tomorrow. Tomorrow is only from 8:30-12 so we usually only get a few. Tonight was super tiring and boring, but at least it's over. I did go to lunch with the two young science guys (I got my courage up and went and invited them because I'm trying to be more social). When we walked back in another teacher said we looked like the Mod Squad so now they have this big plan that we're going to take a photo looking like the Mod Squad. Interesting. You know, sometimes I wonder if the reason I'm in the place I am as far as friends is because I eliminate people too quickly from my possible friends list? I don't know. I know a couple of my best friends from my teaching program ended up being people that I crossed off the list, so it's not as if I completely close off to it. But anyway, the two guys are cool and fun but they just don't seem like potential friends. And plus, they are in the science teacher clique, so you know how that goes.

I am really frustrated because hotmail is down and I can't read my email. I haven't checked it in about three days so it is really annoying.

I hate getting home at 8 pm. I got home yesterday and today all because of conferences. I am feeling a strange sense of euphoria because I am all caught up on grades for the time being. However, I still need to read some journals. I score them first based solely on length and then go back and read them. It just makes it easier for me because then I don't have to concentrate on the bad part when I am doing the good part.

The parents were cool for the most part. Very nice and they love hearing me say positive stuff about their kids. I always say good things about every kid. It's really interesting for me meeting parents, especially when I know that the kid is not getting along with the parent or hates the parent. I felt like kicking this kid's mom today, though. He has told me some of the stuff about how his mom is treating him lately and it is not good. Anyway, he had an A in the class and has been doing well all year. He had ONE 15 point assignment missing and he got a low test score on the test they just took. ALL of his other assignments were in and he did well on them. This is a kid who before this year always did really badly. I told her how much I love having him in class and how great it was he was getting an A and she sort of scolded him and berated him for not having that one assignment in and for doing badly on the test. HE HAS AN A, which is really great for him. I don't know, I just thought that was not cool. Yeah, maybe I'm biased, but I was not liking her very much.

One kid came by to pick up his tuxedo for prom and I told him to come by to get his grade from me. I told the kids I'd be calling home for kids who were failing--he did something that was so funny to me. He said, "My friend _____, I think he might be failing. Well he has a new telephone number because he just moved, do you want the new number so you are sure you can get ahold of his mom?" I happily accepted. :)

Anyway, I'm going to go read some online journals. I haven't had the chance to do that lately.

previous - next