current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-04-22 - 10:41 p.m.

I should be in bed, but on those days when I actually don't have to do much before bed, I tend to stay up late. No matter how tired I am.

I'm starting to wonder if I'm turning into an evil teacher. Sometimes even nice teachers have limits. Sometimes I wonder if there is something about me that makes kids think they can act the way they do. Don't get me wrong, 99.9% of the kids were fine today. It was just the two that I kicked out of class that I had a problem with. :) I guess if they want to talk to me about it tomorrow, fine, if not, fine. I like both of the girls but I just got fed up. I don't even feel like talking about it. Maybe tomorrow. In any case, I'm working on my issues.

This is a weird food observation that I discovered. Eating honeydew melon makes water taste disgusting. I only ended up drinking 1 1/2 liters of water today because I made the mistake of thinking I could eat honeydew melon at the same time. It made it taste like metal, or something worse.

Believe it or not, I haven't been completely without exercise. I know a certain person is worried about me and my health so I should mention that I did the gazelle twice last week and I went for a long ass walk today to the store.*** It wasn't actually that long of a walk, but I could have just took my car. It also was uphill partway and I carried a large bag of groceries on the way back. I know it's not as good as a workout, but I felt it was worth mentioning anyway. I hopefully will be even better this week--I bought all healthy items at the grocery store and actually packed my lunch for tomorrow. I bought a lot of fruit and vegetables so we'll see. I am tired of having a tummy that sticks out.

I thought Boston Public was sub-Boombastic tonight. I just am not that into Dana Poole and all of that nonsense. Harry Senate deserved to be fired and I don't have all that much empathy for him and his issues. The one thing I did like about this episode was whether or not grading practices are fair. I deal with some of those same issues, although not in that way. In the case of the show, it was true something needed to be done. In the case of real life I'm not sure that something does need to be done. I am not sure--it's something to think about.

I haven't seen any of my banners running now that I put them up, but maybe they are. Let me know if you see one of them. I don't know if anyone will click on them because I think I included an inside joke with myself on them. I can't remember which one I ultimately used. Oh well.

I decided to commit the ultimate teacher move and give kids extra credit if their parents come to conferences. I heard, "Hmmmm, 20 points or being grounded?" Then I threw in the catch--if you are a senior and you are at risk of not passing my class (and therefore not graduating) and your parents don't show up to conferences, I'm calling your house to talk to them anyway. So you may as well get your 20 points. HA HA HA. I was shocked by how many students were suddenly interested in getting their work in. Apparently they must all think they are going to get it up in time to graduate, but don't want their parents to know that they are in any danger along the way. I don't really relish the idea of talking to parents at conferences, but it will be a lot easier than calling all the parents on the phone. Hopefully they will come. I really do like being in contact with parents (it was one of my goals for this year) but I'm always afraid one of them will freak out on me and yell. I am also quite shy, as you know, so I get scared about meeting those that I haven't met.

Goodnight!

***Do you ever get sort of upset when you are reading someone's online journal that you read regularly, and they have a reference specifically for another person who reads their journal? Like they have this secret club with this person and have all this history and emailing going on with them, and you don't know exactly what the extent of their relationship is, even though you know all this other stuff about them because, obviously, you read their journal every day? Do you feel this twinge of jealousy over this reference to the person because you sort of feel like YOU should be referenced to, too? I feel that way all the time, even if I do have a sort of secret club with the person, too. I particularly feel this way over three people: epiphany, sara, and shaun. Sometimes I wonder about myself. Anyway, the whole point of this was to say if you feel this way, I feel your pain and I'm not trying to shut you out of the secret club. HA HA.

previous - next