current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-04-21 - 9:03 p.m.

I've really been neglecting writing lately, haven't I? Sorry about that.

I had a great weekend, that was relaxing and nice for once. This was the anniversary weekend with Justin (7 years). He ended up coming down on Friday and met me at school. He waited patiently while I did the weekly grade reports in just under an hour. It was so nice to have that done so I didn't have to worry about coming in on Sunday to do it--the grade reports for certain kids are due every Monday by noon, and since I don't have my prep until the afternoon, I can't do them before then if I wait until Monday. Anyway, it was so nice to have that out of the way. I also had Monday planned, so I didn't have to worry about it all weekend! Totally unheard of if your name is Ms. Boombastic.

We didn't exchange gifts this year, which was fine with me. We ended up spending a great deal of time doing yardwork. Ever since I moved into this house I haven't really dealt with the lawn because first I was waiting to get a lawn mower, then I was waiting to have Justin help me figure out how to use the lawn mower and weed whacker, then I was waiting for a dry day (this is Oregon, it rains almost 90% of the time). Needless to say, the grass was out of control. I've never lived in a house before so I didn't have to deal with this. Luckily Justin did most of it--I am so grateful. I did a lot of the raking and putting grass into bags but he did the weed whacking. I just have a push mower so I have to do a much better job of keeping up on this or I will have the same problem all over again. I also ended up digging up some of the grass to plant bulbs. It was sort of a satisfying feeling, but I put the bulbs in too late, so I won't actually get to see the fruits of my labor until next spring. I kind of wish I got some seeds that would bloom right now, but I didn't.

Other than that, we ended up going to see Panic Room. There wasn't much playing that we wanted to see, so Justin picked that. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I'm not a really big Jodie Foster fan (my mom, on the other hand, is obsessed with her), but I liked the interesting camera work and the plot kept me entertained the whole time. I don't usually like those types of movies, either, I'm more of a romantic-comedy/cornball teen movie fan. We also went out to eat Thai food. Overall it was pretty fun just hanging out. When I am with him I feel so great and don't think about school (except when we run into my students, always fun). So anyway, that's where I've been.

My seniors are watching Emma tomorrow and then Tuesday is test review and Wednesday is the test. I have teacher conferences on Thursday and Friday, which I'm not really looking forward to, but at least I don't have to plan anything for those days. I can't believe April is so close to being over. Something like eight more weeks until school is out!

I can't remember if I mentioned this, but I'm going to Florida for four days this summer with my mom. We're taking a road trip from Louisiana. I'm really excited about it, since I've never been there. We are going to go to Universal Studios and some of the other theme parks. We're still deciding which ones to go to. I've been to Disneyland three times so I'm not sure if we'll actually go to the Magic Kingdom or not. The whole thing is really exciting because my mom and I haven't been on a vacation together since we went to Disneyland when I was nine. I've never been on a vacation with her as an adult, so this should be cool. She also isn't one who is too scared to go on rides--and I love the scary rides.

I guess the reason I haven't been writing much lately is because I haven't had much interesting going on. I don't have any cute kid stories lately. Not that I normally have that many, but usually there is something interesting going on with them to report.

Because of my cable company, I don't have HBO anymore, and so missed my weekly tradition of watching The Sopranos. It was very sad.

Speaking of TV, it is so out of character for Felicity to have cheated on her paper. I hate it when TV shows have a character doing something that just isn't what they would do. I don't care, Felicity would go and beg for an extension. This stupid storyline reminded me of the time when they had Griffin cheat on Julia on Party of Five. It was so out of character and they totally ruined Griffin in general. The least they could have done is have Griffin and Julia end up together on the season finale, since every fan wanted that, but no. I am still completely outraged by the way that storyline went.

I've been reading a bit. I am reading some book by this guy Marc Parent about raising his kids called Believing it All something something. I can't remember what the title of the other book is. What I should be reading is Julius Caesar because I have to teach it to the sophomores. Actually, I probably could get away with not teaching it. No one ever asks me what I teach, no one ever checks up on me. Probably I could not teach it and no one would ever know. But I feel this weird thing like because I was taught a Shakespeare play every year, this should also be the case for my students. I don't even like Shakespeare and I have this weird English teacher loyalty. Is this why the cannon remains in place? Who knows. Anyway, I've gotta teach it or I'll feel guilty. I have to figure out a way to make it go over well. I need to do a lot of acting, and I'm going to introduce it in an exciting way. The problem is that I need to read it first, and I haven't read it since my freshman year in high school. The only thing I remember is THE IDES OF MARCH and "Et tu, Brute?" and how I actually thought that was very cool. Do I remember anything about how they taught it that made me think it was somewhat cool? No. I can't remember anything we did in English class other than the homework. What we did every day in class is a mystery to me.

Well I'm thinking it's time for me to get to bed. Maybe something stupendous will happen tomorrow so I can write it in my little diaryland diary.

previous - next