current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-08-28 - 9:32 p.m.

I forgot to put in an update on my lovely neighbors. I can't go more than a few days without mentioning them, can I?

There was this whole garbage controversy when the loud neighbors moved in, in that there was constantly more garbage than cans. I said to the landlord I would like to get another can since there is nowhere to put my garbage as it is all overflowing. He felt that was too much garbage and told me to take one of the cans and put it by my door as "my" garbage can. I did this and it was working fine. Now, the neighbor with the two little girls, apparently has decided this can is a public can for everyone. They have filled up this can with their garbage (I had yet to put any garbage in it this week and then one day I go out and see that it is full to the brim!) Not only have they filled this can with their garbage, they have also piled two boxes beside the can, as if this is the place that garbage is collected. Actually, no, this is not the place that garbage is collected. The garbage is collected in the front of the house. This can is lugged, by me, to the front of the house. I do not want to lug this can, filled with your garbage to the front of the house. I also do not want to have your recycling piled next to my door waiting for me to take it out. I lugged the stupid trash can, filled with their trash, to the front of the house. I put their recycling boxes next to their stairway to make a blatent statement about what I think of their boxes by my doorway. I am not sure what to do, whether to knock on their door and explain the garbage situation to them (it was not a very effective discussion with the other neighbors, who still do not put their garbage out on the curb on garbage day, even though I kindly educated them on the fact that garbage does not get picked up if you leave it piled along the side of the house), or whether to simply lug the garbage can inside onto my porch so only I can have access to this wonderful can. I have always lived in apartments that have one big huge common garbage, so this is a new problem for me.

I am puzzled that everyone else has such an inability to understand how garbage disposal works. I am also puzzled that everyone else has such a lack of understanding about why I would place a can next to my doorway. I can't imagine thinking to myself, "My, here is a garbage can next to my neighbor's doorway. I think they must have put it there so that I can throw my trash in it without having to walk the extra 20 feet to the front of the house. I am sure they won't mind if I fill it up completely. They also will be happy to take my recycling out for me, since I am feeling a bit lazy today."

Okay.

previous - next