current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-08-29 - 5:00 p.m.

Just got back from school--it was a long and tiring day, and I didn't even get that much accomplished. We had a meeting but we got to spend most of the time in our room. All the other teachers are very envious of my new sky-blue walls.

I met the new teachers. Two of them are young, not just one. They are both guys and both just graduated from OSU. I was excited to see them but apprehensive of the fact that they already know each other. They also are both going to be commuting so it's not like they are going to be around to hang out with. But it is still exciting and they both seem really cool. Plus, they are commuting from where Justin just moved so maybe if we do end up as friends we can all hang out or something, or they can at least tell me some cool places to go. There is another new teacher that is a bit older and will be in my hallway. He seems cool, too. Then there is a new football coach/PE/Alt. Ed. guy who transferred from a nearby town. He seems very football coach-esque. There is also a new Special Ed. person, who I am not sure about. She seems nice enough but our last Special Ed. person was a goddess, so this one has a lot to live up to.

The good news is that the first day of school is all freshmen so I don't actually start teaching until Wednesday, not Tuesday like I thought (no freshmen for me). The bad news is that I got my class lists and I am teaching three classes of sophomore english (I thought it would be just two, and four of seniors, but it is three and three). Really we are short 2 classes of a teacher because one of the other teachers is working half time due to becoming Union president. So anyway, my two regular senior classes each have forty students. I am not happy with this. I don't have enough desks for forty students, and I am used to being spoiled with small classes. Last year my smallest class was 8 and largest was 28. All of my senior classes were under 20. However, I know some of the seniors will drop out, or decide to do Alt. Ed. so I will lose some of those numbers. Still. And many of the kids in those two classes are high energy and/or low skill level so need lots of attention and love. How am I supposed to give that to them? I guess I will deal with it somehow. At least I have desks this year. Having them all squeezed into my broken tables from last year would be a nightmare. I don't even think I have enough books. All I have for the two senior classes is a classroom set and I think there are only 30 or so. How is that going to work?

The other PE teacher made me a bit uncomfortable today. Last year he was trying to hit on me when I first came. He kept coming into my room and trying to hang out with me while I was trying to get stuff done. He also asked me to go to a movie and to go to a football game. Finally I was able to slip that I had a boyfriend into the conversation. The worst part about this is that he is over 40! Hello, I know I am a hot young new piece of ass (ha ha) but why would a 22 (I was 22 at the time) year old want to get together with a 40 year old? He also had two kids. Um, no thank you. Anyway, he stopped asking me to hang out once he found out I had a boyfriend. But in the office today in front of a whole bunch of people he said something jokingly about waiting for me to call him all summer because I said I would call so we could go to a movie (which I did not). He said he was sitting by the phone, etc. I was just embarrassed and found it was a little inappropriate to be joking around about us dating, especially in front of others.

I know the students are going to be so excited over these new teachers. I am guessing some new crushes will be had. Neither of these guys are as cute as this sub. all the girls had crushes on last year, but they are decent looking. This guy was supposedly the hottest thing ever in life and I kept missing out on seeing him because I would be out on the days he subbed. All the other teachers and kids teased me about how I would want to hook up with Mr. Hottie but I had never seen him. So one day the girls said that Mr. Hottie was finally here on the same day as me and I had to check him out. I discreetly peeked in the window of the class he was subbing for. But inbetween classes I was sitting in my room and he walked in. He walked in, looked at me, said, "Hi" and left. It was blatent that someone had told him to check me out as well. The way he did it was kind of rude, though, he didn't even have a pretend purpose for walking in my room.

He was good looking, but in a sort of, "I care a lot about how I look" way. Sort of like Hardy on Big Brother 2. Then in the teacher's lounge he was sitting with the PE teacher. They are like best friends. Apparently Mr. Hottie also has a waiter job on the side of his sub. job. He started telling this story about how there were two women customers the night before. He said they were really having a great time with him as their waiter. Then he pulled out this fifty dollar bill. Apparently they left a credit card tip of 15% as well as a fifty dollar bill he showed to PE teacher guy. One of the women kissed the fifty dollar bill, leaving lip prints, and wrote, "Thanks for the memories." I thought that was a pretty pathetic story to tell when you are subbing and sitting at a table where all the other teachers can hear you. It basically just said, "Yeah, I think I am good looking, and other people do too, and I want everyone to know that other people think I am hot, hot enough to spend 50.00 on my tip." After that I felt nothing but contempt for Mr. Hottie. I think he also really enjoys the fact that all the high school girls are hot for him, too, which I think is icky.

I am feeling less nervous about school starting but I am already feeling exhausted. I couldn't fall asleep last night until about 4:00AM. I am just like that the day before something important. Hopefully I can get more sleep tonight.

previous - next