current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-16 - 6:33 p.m.

I got home today to look down at my shirt suddenly and discovered I have something weird and green all over my shirt (overhead marker?) I wonder how long that has been there?!?! I wonder if it was there all day and no one bothered to say anything? How could I have not noticed this? How embarrassing! I didn't bother going to to the sophomore assembly. We have different days we have to go to assemblies so I got to skip out on this one. I know that was not a very good thing to do but I am always frightened that they are going to do something which calls for the teacher to go to the front of the whole school and embarrass themselves! I have been a victim of this moment before and I do not want to do this ever again. I had to dance in front of the whole school and none of the other teachers would come to help me. Finally the evil PE teacher showed he had one redeeming quality and came up to rescue me. Anyway, that is my justification for skipping the assembly. The students thought it was lame I didn't wear my PJs to school today, by the way. They said it didn't matter if they were old and ragged. Anyway, the rest of the days I have nothing to wear for so I guess my chance to show school spirit is over. I haven't been approached for chaperoning Homecoming dance yet so am hoping I won't be. Pretty good day today. All of my classes were in the lab today typing so that went fairly well. I had some interesting and random conversations with them. That girl, Rachel, that I mentioned before who was having the problem with the other teacher has ended up deciding to take the class at the school in the next town (only seven miles away). I am glad for her that they are letting her do that. She was getting way too stressed out.

Tomorrow the sophomores turn in their free choice papers. I will definitely be interested to see what they have done with that. I gave grades today and no one seemed too upset. I'm glad. Most of the kids who are failing know they are failing and know why they are failing (not doing any work). I have had three particular triumphs this semester where kids that were always failing last year are doing remarkably better (from F to C or even B!) It feels so good to be able to tell them their grades. I just hope they keep it up because it was so nice to see them so happy about how they are doing and for me to be able to tell them how proud I am of them. One of these is the kid I mentioned before who is an angry-young-man who sometimes is rude to me and doesn't take responsibility for himself. Somehow he seems to have figured things out, at least for now, and I am just hoping it will continue.

It is freezing in my house again. I am thinking about turning on the heat. I changed my phone service since I have a cell phone so that I don't have call waiting anymore. I figured if someone really needs to get ahold of me that they can call my cell phone if my phone is busy. It is a ridicolous amount of money. Before I had something called Value Choice but I guess they discontinued it and when I moved I couldn't get it anymore. They switched me over to Custom Choice and that is almost $40.00 a month after the state taxes and such! By switching to just the basic service I will save $20.00 a month. I can't believe how much services like call waiting and caller ID end up costing. I didn't even want the caller ID (although it was fun to be able to figure out who my prank caller was). Anyway, what with all my new expenses I really need that extra money.

I am still going to start looking into small claims court for my landlord since his lawyer wouldn't return my calls. What a nightmare.

Oh, I was taking some pictures of myself with my digital camera. I think it is a pretty good one.

previous - next