current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-11-20 - 9:26 p.m.

There are two things that I must talk about related to the Internet tonight. The first is this phenomenon known as the "e-crush." This is the worst invention I have ever heard of. Has anyone else been getting these e-crush things? I think it is a huge conspiracy and I am dead set against it. Here is my story:

The other day I got a message from www.hugecrush.com that someone has a huge crush on me. Naturally I was intrigued. At some point some other site like it sent me one of these crush things and I don't think I ever was able to figure out who it was but I knew there was something tricky about figuring it out. Well, I go to the site and I have to type in people's email addresses in order to try to get an answer of who my crush could be. The catch is that if you type in their email they will get an email saying someone has a crush on them, even if you don't have a crush on them and are just trying to find out if they like you! How awkward. Not to mention you have to type in more than one email address to get results. Being me, I typed in every address in my email address book in the hopes I could find out who it was. I'm talking boys, girls, you name it (don't be too freaked out/excited if you get a note someone has a crush on you, it's just me being a dork). Guess what? None of those people have a crush on me, but now if they type in my name when they get their crush, they will think I have a crush on them! What a nightmare. The conspiracy is that I think the hugecrush.com just sends you that email saying someone has a crush so you will go to their site. I don't think anyone has a crush on me at all.

Well, after that whole ordeal I was fed up and still had no crusher that I could discover. This happened a few days ago. I was a bit nervous at the emails I might get if any of my friends happened to find out that I supposedly have a crush on them. Then today I open my mailbox and find I have ANOTHER hugecrush.com notice. I go to the site again figuring someone must have typed in my address that I had sent the hugecrush too while I was trying to figure out who sent me one. I figured if that had happened they would tell me. No. I was still confronted with having to type in two more email addresses to find out who my crush was. I got so pissed off at this hugecrush.com that I had to fill out the section that "someone is spamming me with crushes" so they would block all crushes from being sent to me. How insane is that? Anyway, I hope I have fully explained the reason why I am not a fan of these crush sites; clearly they are the work of an evil power in Internet land.

After that whole impassioned rant I have forgotten about my second Internet related discussion. Hopefully it will come back to me at a later time.

Hey at my other site someone got there by searching for 'Nsync+bare+feet. HA HA. I know it is such a cliche to mention silly referrals in your online diary but I had to mention that one.

Speaking of Justin Timberlake, did anyone catch Britney's HBO special? I just about threw up at many parts, but there were some cool sections as well. I kind of felt like she must have been lip syncing, but who am I to judge? I was hoping all through it that Justin would put in a surprise guest appearance during the song he wrote for her album, but no such luck. I was sad that she didn't sing my new favorite song that is about "bombastic love." I got her new CD a few days ago and it is growing on me. Some of the songs make me want to throw up almost as much as when Britney did her little speech midway through the concert, but hey, that's part of why Britney is Britney, right? She makes you nauseous in the some way too much birthday cake does.

I actually didn't have to take home any work tonight and I feel happy about that. I stayed until 6pm because I somehow am on YET ANOTHER committee (site council), and the meeting was at 5pm. I sat through an hour meeting and am still completely unclear what site council is. Oh well.

Let's just hope it doesn't mean more people roping me into doing more crap that I don't want to do.

By the way, mean-lady-who-tries-to-make-me-do-everything never got back to me about numbers to call for the radio stations and now the play is over and it is her own fault I didn't help because she was supposed to put the information in my box! HA HA HA. You can bet that I will not be anywhere near her vicinity when the spring play comes around.

It's hunting season here so things have been pretty quiet. For some reason kids seem to think they should take a week of school off to go hunting without bothering to get any assignments before they go, right before the last week of the six week period. It's quite interesting.

My college essay unit that I made up myself is still going really well! I can't wait to see how things turn out. I was really pleased with how everything went today. Usually I steal ideas from other people so when things go well I think it is just because I got a good idea from another teacher, but this whole thing was planned by me, so I can give all the credit to myself. GO ME! And you wondered why they call me Ms. Boombastic? ;)

Seventh period was bad today. They listened politely while I spoke and did journals but it seems something got lost in the translation. While I said, "Okay, now it is time to brainstorm and start writing your movie reviews," they heard, "Okay, now it is time to talk with your friends and waste the entire period." I just decided to let it go as I couldn't think of anything better to do. No one ever came to watch my seventh period class last year so I am praying that no one will come watch my seventh period this year either. I only got observed twice last year "officially" and once "unofficially" so I am actually pretty safe. Supposedly they were going to do these drop in visits on a regular basis this year but I have only had one two minute visit (the kids were actually all on task!) So I guess I should stop freaking out over, "What if someone walked in right now?!?!?" when everyone isn't completely wrapped up in the assignment. I don't know.

Okay it is time for me to go to bed.

PS Thank goodness Tristan is coming back to Gilmore Girls. Next week's episode looks soooooooooo good. Tristan can be my Romeo any time.

previous - next