current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-01-05 - 10:47 p.m.

I just had an extremely weird and funny experience! It is, of course, only something that would happen in this town.

I was sitting here alone and out of nowhere heard a knock on my door. (At about 9:30 PM) I went to the door and said, "Who is it?" since I am very cautious about opening the door at night. "It's Rachel!" This is one of my students, one of my favorites. I opened the door and was like, "What are you doing here?!" She shouted that they were on a scavenger hunt for a party and they needed me to come to help them because they needed lots of people in the pictures. I was in my sweatpants but I said okay. So we went and did all these weird pictures (like of a group of people on the stairs, in the formation of letters) and then went over to the party. I had a piece of cake with them and then they took me home. It was very odd! They were so excited that I was there with them and were telling me gossip and stuff like that. Apparently last year one of my students thought I was soooooo hot. Ha ha. Anyway, it was very odd but fun in a way. I felt cool that they would have wanted me to do that. These are seniors, so you would wonder why they were doing something like a scavenger hunt for a party, but apparently these are very popular at parties in this place. Crazy, I know. Anyway, I guess this will be one of my remember whens.

Speaking of which, I saw one of my students from last year yesterday. He was at school and he came up to me at the mailboxes and gave me a big hug. He was, in fact, the student that picked me up and threw me into the lake at the senior picnic last year. Have I told that story before? Anyway, he was one of my very favorite kids and it was so nice talking to him. He is doing really well at Western and got three A's and three C's. One of the A's was in his writing class! I'd like to say that in some small way I can take some credit for that, because I had the kids write so much last year. It made me so happy to hear that. Also, his friend (they were my two John's) is doing really well too. I am discovering the joy-that-is-former-students. All of the kids I have seen this year that I had last year as seniors seem so thrilled to see me! And I feel so good to see them as well, it's like any bad experiences are erased and you just remember the good stuff. I truly will always have a special place in my heart for those seniors because they were the first ones I got to see graduate. Anyway, it always seems easier to talk to them too, like they are old friends.

I had a good time with Justin this weekend, even though he had to leave today. We went out to dinner last night at an expensive Italian restaurant and I ordered wine for the first time. Ever since my wine tour I have wanted to try ordering wine. It was fun. We also watched our favorite Gameshow Network. Apparently Mark and Elizabeth have this Gameshow Network addiction as well. I think it is so weird, but I love that channel.

I am still feeling in a weird surreal place because we only had two days of school last week and this week will be a full week. I am not really eased back into school. I always enjoy it while I am there but thinking about it makes me feel nervous and unprepared. I love being around students and I love it when they understand something or get into something, but it is so hard planning lessons and grading. I actually feel better about lessons now but just making sure you have everything copied and ready to go makes me nervous. But grading is still my worst nightmare. I don't know how people do it. I don't know how people survive being a teacher, and other people have families! I can understand why so many teachers quit. I am not going to but I can see why. I know it must get better since people do this for years and years.

I finally started reading a new book. I'm reading The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen. I got it because of the whole controversy and all of that, but I was also curious since it supposedly is one of the great modern American novels or something. Well, I read the first few pages and couldn't get into it. I thought it was a bit pretentious in the language. I put it down and didn't think about it. Well, he mentioned he was reading it and couldn't put it down so I decided to pick it up again. I only read a little bit but now I am actually starting to get into it. It's actually pretty funny and at some points seems really true to life. We'll see if I keep enjoying it.

I'm thinking about ordering this Tony Little Gazelle thing. It is an exercise thing that my mom just got. She got the cheaper version, and I probably will too. I tried it at her house and it was really easy and seemed fun, like something I would actually do. If I actually spend 100+ dollars on it, I would feel too guilty not to use it right? I really want to be able to keep my New Year's resolution to keep in shape. I don't want my body to go completely down the drain. As it is I am too embarrassed to wear a bikini in public.

Oh, I am completely addicted to The Sims now. This is really dumb, but I made characters for Justin and I and Mark and Elizabeth and it is so funny. I love choosing out all of the stuff for their houses and adding on and all of that. Unfortunately Mark and Elizabeth keep having these random fires at their house so I have to keep replacing all of their furniture! It is the weirdest game but it is really addictive. Justin really wants it now. We tried to burn it at Mark and Elizabeth's but it didn't work. I'm not sure if it is made so you can't copy or what. Very bad, I know.

Once again I find myself on Saturday night having done exactly NOTHING for school, which means tomorrow, Sunday, will be a personal day of hell for Ms. Boombastic. WHY WHY WHY can't I be a non-procrastinater?

previous - next