current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-03-02 - 4:20 p.m.

Yay, it's Friday! I'm still sick but am feeling a little bit better. I was afraid I would get an ear infection because my ears started hurting. I got one last year and there is no pain worse. Luckily it seems to have stopped hurting but they are still clogged!

The kids were sweeties today, although three different seniors sneaked out of the library (they were supposed to be typing their papers). I wrote them up, all girls, and you know how girls can take that VERY personally. Ugh. They deserve it though. Then later on I found a valentine in my mailbox from one of the girls and felt sort of bad about it.

A number of them actually wanted my help on their papers so I felt very useful and needed. I love that feeling. I think this paper is too hard for them, but they're seniors, many of them plan to go to college, and they need to be challenged. I did my best to help them understand it. I'm trying SO HARD to get them beyond summary and into actual analysis. Other teachers must know how this feels, it is like banging on a wall or something. I am so creative with my similes aren't I? Ugh.

You know how some people call others "Sweetie" or "Hun" or "Honey"? Usually it is females who do this, like Rachel on Friends. I always wonder how people get into the habit of doing this? I actually really like being called pet names by other females, but am not a big fan of it from males (other than Justin). I kind of think it is sweet. For some reason it slips out sometimes when talking to certain kids I might call them "Sweetie" but then I feel silly. I wish I was one of the un-embarrassed "Sweetie"-callers.

I started watching Friends again and it is really good lately. I wish I hadn't missed the rest of the season because of Survivor. I stopped watching that show halfway through and so didn't even get to see the end. That was kind of dumb of me.

I forgot to mention that I just read Election by Tom Perrotta (author of Joe College). It was very fun to read. You may have seen the movie. It only took me one evening, so it is a quick read. Basically it is about a high school election from the point of view of a teacher and some of the students. The movie starred Reese Witherspoon and it was funny (I have it on DVD).

I don't know why everyone is all dissing the new Britney Spears commercial. I think it's cute. Just thought I would mention it!

I kind of miss the blog format where you can write just a little blurb every hour. I am thinking of changing this to a blog but I am afraid it will screw everything up. Also I sometimes dislike change when I go to other people's webpages. I was thinking about changing this to a yellow background but I know when I go to someone's webpage and it is all different I feel confused and befuddled. So maybe not.

Hey, sign my guestbook. I just got one (see link on left).

previous - next