current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2005-01-29 - 5:06 p.m.

This is kind of a fun survey...I never do these, but one of the things I dwell on most is high school, and my last year was actually a good one.
Your Last Year of High School --taken from Penutgallry.

1. What year was it? 1994-1995

2. What were your three favorite bands? It would have to be Jodeci, Mary J. Blige and 2pac. I think this was the year that "Big Poppa" by Notorious B.I.G. was popular. I remember my friend Lucia had a mix tape with that on it that her boyfriend made her and we used to listen to it really loud in her maroon Plymouth Sundance and we thought we were SO COOL.

3. What was your favorite outfit? My favorite outfit this year was a plaid red pleated skirt with a cream colored shirt. I remember the first day I wore this outfit to school this HOT BOY who I had a class with the year before said hi to me and touched me on the arm, which started a thing where every time he saw me he said hi and touched me in some way, and it was like a movie star had done it, that's how I felt about that boy. Too bad I never tried to do anything about it, because he was FIIIIIIINE. I think that is still 1995 terminology?

4. What was up with your hair? My hair looked almost the same as it does now--I was back to wearing it long and straight. That's how I like it the best. So I was probably at my most attractive, even though I didn't really feel that attractive back then. I was the ideal weight--I'd just gotten hips my senior year so I wasn't horribly skinny like I had been up to that point. I also had a job on and off, so I had clothes I actually liked for once.

5. Who were your best friends? Lucia and Mary. Mary and I weren't as close this year as we were junior year, but we still talked on the phone almost every day. Lucia and I were friends since first grade, but for a while this year she had this horrible boyfriend that I disapproved of, so we were in constant drama because of him.

6. What did you do after school? I usually just hung out with Lucia, driving around in the Sundance. Sometimes we drove downtown. We also had two different pairs of boyfriends that were also best friends, so we hung out with the boyfriends a lot. That was one of the best times for us. I also had a job at the mall in the food court at Arby's, so I spent a lot of time working there.

7. Did you take the bus? I had to take the public bus if Lucia didn't drive me, which I didn't really mind that much. I had to take two buses, though, so I would transfer at Lloyd Center, and I spent a lot of time there spending all the money I made on clothes.

8. Who did you have a crush on? I had a crush on my junior yearlocker partner, Clarence, who was so adorable. I also had a crush on the kid who sat next to me in typing who cheated off me during the typing tests. Not to mention the HOT BOY. I also had four different boyfriends that year, all of whom were pretty cute...one was Justin.

9. Did you fight with your parents?
I didn't fight at all with my mom this year, because I had gotten it together and wasn't skipping school very much. I was also just happy in general, since I had gotten out of the relationship with my first real boyfriend, who totally broke my heart when I was with him. It was easier not being with him than being with him.

10. Who did you have a CELEBRITY crush on? Ken Griffey Jr., Tyson Beckford, Johnny Depp, and Larenz Tate.

11. Did you smoke cigarettes? Not at all that year--I tried it a few times sophomore year. I did smoke pot three or four times that year, though.

12. Did you lug all of your books around in your backpack all day because you were too nervous to find your locker? I did tend to carry my stuff with me, because I didn't have enough time to go to my locker (it was way far away from all of my classes.)

13. Did you have a 'clique'? I spent a lot of time with Lucia and my other friend, but we didn't really have a clique.

14. Did you have "The Max" like Zach, Kelly and Slater? No, but we went out to eat every day at McDonald's, Wendy's or Burger King.

15. Admit it, were you popular? My high school was too big to really have popular kids--there were kids everyone knew who were involved in things like plays or sports, but there were just way too many groups.

16. Who did you want to be just like?
I just wanted to be like a perfect, pretty girl. There was this one girl Monica, who was going out with the HOT GUY who always dressed perfectly and looked so cute all of the time. She had a ton of different kinds of pumas, too, so I wished that I was her sometimes.

17. What did you want to be when you grew up? A teacher. Always have. I decided the year before that I would be a high school English teacher. My high school English teachers junior and senior year were the best.

18. Where did you think you'd be at the age you are now? Probably married, with children, working as a teacher. I guess things just didn't work out that way.

previous - next