current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2007-02-13 - 10:15 p.m.

Tomorrow is the dreaded Valentine's Day. I've made myself feel a little bit better because I bought my homeroom kids sweethearts. I had to when I realized that some of them would be getting Val-o-grams and some of them would not...and what is worse than seeing everyone but you get those stinking cards and suckers from their friends? Seeing some of your eighth grade students watch everyone but them getting those stinking cards and suckers. Ugh. I know that getting something from your teacher doesn't make up for it, but at least they will all be eating candy at once.

Here's the thing that is easier about not having a boyfriend on Valentine's Day...you don't have to secretly hope all day that you will be delivered flowers at work...and then you don't have to hope that you are delivered flowers at home. Because there is no chance that is going to happen! Woo hoo. That's me, always looking on the bright side.

I had a one-on-one talk with a student who I've had many one-on-one talks with. Today was the first day that he ever raised his hand to answer a question the entire year...this is despite the fact that I pulled him out of elective three days in a row now to make him work on work for me. And he got the answer right! He won't ever smile at me, but I think I'm starting to get to him. I don't really remember having any project kids last year, but this year I have tons. Part of it is teaching this required study hall for our kids who have more than one F...they are automatically my projects, but even once they earn their way out I am trying to stay on top of them. It's a bigger job than you can imagine, and no amount of bribery seems to work with these kids. I am thankful, though, that I am doing it because I am growing to love some of them that I didn't really know well before. Anyway, I think I totally mortified him in my one-on-one talk with him because it was all about how I really care about him and want him to succeed and I'm not trying to pick on him...he said exactly nothing in response. I almost embarrassed myself with my speech, but what are you going to do?

Another teacher said that he was told that with our at-risk kids we are supposed to praise them five times for every correction. Just find any little good thing and notice it. It's hard...and you risk being insincere if you aren't careful. We'll see...but I have really tried to step it up in the praise department: "You're not failing math! Great! I like how today you only snickered across the room with Ricky five times instead of your usual twenty! Nice job staying out of my room during passing time instead of going in there and playing with the overhead projector like you usually do! You remembered to put your heading on your paper!" I didn't really use any of those...well, I did use the not failing math one. All of them seem to be failing math all of the time...

So I have decided that I am just not allowed to hang out with ex-boyfriends. I have my reasons. No, I'm not talking about Jose or Nathan or Chad. That's all I am going to say about that.

I'm looking forward to the three-day weekend. It should be great!

previous - next