current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2007-07-11 - 4:27 p.m.

My Craigslist dating saga continues! So on Friday, I had plans to meet this guy, S, for happy hour. He was super thoughtful and sweet by email, and both times that I talked to him on the phone we were laughing the whole time. I was a little worried, though, that I might not be attracted to him. Unfortunately, that is exactly what happened. He is Indian from India, and he was about my height but he only had about 20-30 pounds on me. I like guys to be a little bit bigger since I am so self-conscious about being tall. Anyway, he was so much fun to hang out with, though. We were talking and laughing the whole time, and he was a pop culture person like me, so we spent a ton of time talking about Sex and the City. Unfortunately, I know myself, and I know that I have to have chemistry with someone from the beginning. I've tried to develop it, and it just doesn't work. So anyway, it was fun, but that was it with him. I told him afterward, because I am too chicken now to say straight up on a date that there will be no second date. He had asked if we could get together again and I said yes, but I emailed him later and explained. I wish that I liked him because he was the nicest guy ever.


That night I hung out with my friend Cassandra who was in town for a friend's wedding. This went SO MUCH better than our last visit. Last time she was here we sort of got in a fight, but this time we were totally back to how we used to be. I think it helped that her fiance did not come with her, and we had some alone time for the first time in ages. I was so happy to hang out with her.


Saturday was a really fun day because I went to see a band I really like. It is actually Chad's best friend's band, so I have seen them before. Anyway, I had invited some of my friends and my sister to go. It was kind of weird for me because I was having my sister meet my friends and Chad meet my friends (Chad and my sister had already met). It ended up being Nathan, Scarlett, my sister, her boyfriend, a few of her friends, and Chad's brother. It was kind of weird, also, to have two of my exes in one place (Nathan and Chad). They seemed to get along fine, and Nathan kept telling me what a cute couple we make, even though I told him that Chad and I are no longer a couple! Nathan was really into how my sister is a federal agent, and kept making her show him her badge. I think everyone had a good time, and it was nice having everything work out when my worlds collided, you know?


Sunday I ended up going to lunch with another guy, B. I wasn't super impressed with him. I know that internet dating is different, and I should expect that sometimes on the first date the guy might not pay, but that has only happened one other time. I was getting a little spoiled in not having to pay for myself! :) Anyway, he had suggested that we go to lunch (normally I want to go to have a drink so it is short and not too expensive). He suggested a Hawaiian place, and we each ordered a meal and an alcoholic drink. So when the bill came he grabbed it, and I reached for my purse as well. He said, "It will be 18 each!" Then he proceeds to tell me about how he is really fighting the urge to pay for the whole thing, and how his friends are always telling him not to do that. I was like, "Oh." It was really weird and awkward. It's like he was making a big deal over the fact that he wasn't paying. What really made me annoyed about the whole thing, though, is that what he got to eat cost more than mine, but he just split the bill. So actually not only was I paying for mine, I was helping to pay for his! Usually with friends if we decide to just split it, we at least talk about whether we are going to do that or not. Oh well. That was kind of a turn-off, but luckily I already didn't like him.


Apparently he liked me, though, because he said that he definitely wanted to go out again and that he would call me. I again was too awkward to say that I didn't want to go out again, but I emailed him and told him later. Am I being a jerk for emailing instead of saying it on the phone? I just thought since it is only one date, and it all started off with email, that maybe it was okay. I hope so.


Anyway, then I went over to Nathan's house for our weekly Entourage night. Usually it is a big group of us, but everyone is out of town or busy, so it was just him and me this time. I actually took him to the airport the other day so I am not so uncomfortable hanging out with him one-on-one anymore. I have forgiven him for everything and am really good friends with him again (by the way, he and his woman broke up completely and totally now--but no, there is no chance we will ever get together again). So we just hung out and talked about my craigslist dates.


So Monday night at midnight, I got an interesting text message. Remember J, the longshoreman who I went out with two dates with? Well, as I mentioned, we saw the movie Once on our second date. I asked him if he liked it because it was kind of girlie. So anyway, I hadn't heard from him all weekend, and obviously I didn't call him because I decided I didn't want to go out again. I was planning on telling him so if he did call. Well, this is the text message he sent me: "I did enjoy the movie...interesting title, ONCE." WTF?!?!?! So I told multiple people about this text message, and there were two different takes on it. The way that I took that message (and the way that Chad and Scarlett saw it) was that he was being rude and sarcastic about the fact that we only went on a real date ONCE, and he was pissed and letting me know. The thing about it is that I never said I would go out with him again, I don't owe him anything, I didn't blow him off (the phone goes both ways), and I was perfectly nice about everything. So I thought that was a real asshole move, and what does it accomplish to send me a rude text? However, Nathan and Olivia saw it as a "feeler" text message. Nathan thought that he sent me the message as a way of trying to be funny and see if I really meant for us never to go out again, or if I would respond to his "joke." I don't know...but either way I think it is a stupid text message, and I can't stand it when people are sarcastic. Whatever, I am so done with that guy.


The guy that I did like, T, did end up hanging out with me on Monday. We met for a drink and then we came over to my house to play my Nintendo Wii (I got one, finally, as a Christmas gift. They are still super hard to find, but I finally got lucky at Target!) Anyway, that was really fun. He was a lot more shy this time, though, and said that he is usually shy around new people but last time he cheated and had a beer and a shot before I came to meet him at the bar. I thought it was kind of sweet/cute how he was shy. He hugged me goodbye but no kiss or anything (what does it take to get some action on these dates!?!? HA HA!) I really had fun with him, and I could tell he was interested because he stayed for a really long time, but I don't know if it will go anywhere. He had already told me he would be busy this week because his dad is in town, and he didn't call me yesterday. He did text me today, but I don't know if it could work out because I like a lot of attention, and he seems pretty busy. Whatever, I'm not going to worry about it. I did have the most fun with him over any of the other dates.


Yesterday was a pretty good day, too. It was Nathan's birthday, and most of our friends are out of town so I promised to hang out with him. I took him out to lunch and then we came to my house to play Wii. He is the most competitive Wii player I have ever met. We played for about 3-4 hours, which was crazy, especially considering it was about 95 degrees! Then we went downtown to have happy hour and drinks at Portland City Grill. We had a lot of deep conversations about various topics, so that was nice. I felt closer to him than I had in a long time, and he mentioned that me and Scarlett are his best friends. I don't consider him a best friend, but I do feel closer to him than I have in a while. There are still some feelings there, but I know we will never get together, and most of the time I don't really think about that anymore. I actually feel bad for him because his relationship with his woman was so messed up and it really seems to have taken a toll on his self-esteem. In some ways I feel like that is karma, but in another way I don't want anyone to hurt that way (even if they hurt me badly). So hopefully he will find a nice, sweet girl. He has a total crush on Scarlett, but of course she is married. I warned him to check himself on that because he can sometimes get out of control flirty, and I don't want him to cross the line with her.


So today my craigslist dating madness continued. I had a very short but nice date with a guy named D. D is a massage therapist and a rock climbing instructor, so that is obviously way different than the type of guy I usually date. He was completely bald (shaved bald), a little taller than me, had a good body, and was actually very good looking. He was really nice, and he was pretty nervous, which I actually thought was cute. We just had lunch at a Thai place, and we had a good conversation. He asked at the end if I would go out with him again and I said yes. He seemed very different because he seems a little more spiritual--like spiritual as in being at one with nature and vibes and stuff like that. It's hard to explain what I mean, and I don't know if we had chemistry, but I wouldn't mind giving it another chance. We'll see.


Tonight I have plans to go to play trivia with this guy P. I don't even think he ever told me what his job is, so that's kind of weird, but he seemed pretty nice. He is also super tall, and I love that. Then tomorrow I have plans to go to happy hour with another guy named D and later on with this guy named O. Wow. After that I am done with the meeting new guys thing. I am getting burned out, and it's supposed to be fun, so I think I need to stop if it isn't.


Anyway, gotta get going. I hope I am not being boring with all my craigslist date stories...

previous - next