current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2008-04-20 - 3:04 p.m.

So...things are good right now. Something really romantic happened to me the other day that made me feel optimistic again. We'll see if anything comes of it, but it doesn't matter because it made me really, really happy. :)

So I went with my friends to see Cirque Du Soleil, and afterward we wanted to go out. We went to a local bar, and then we went to the bar in the neighborhood that I mentioned before. The one with the owner who gave me a missed connection back in February. At the time I was seeing someone, so I just said so and that maybe we would come in some time. This was our first time going back there since then. Well, he recognized us right away, and he insisted that our drinks were on the house. So that means we drank A LOT of drinks. I was having a really good time, and he was being really sweet. He even let me come behind the bar and "help bartend", which if you have seen my myspace picture, is my favorite thing ever. Anyway, he asked me if I was still seeing the guy I mentioned before and I said no. It's all kind of a blur, but he owns the bar and lives upstairs so I asked to see where he lived. So when I saw his room we kissed! After that he asked if he could at least get my phone number this time, and for some reason I wouldn't give it to him (I think it was because I was drinking and sometimes things seem like SUCH an effort to me when I am drinking). He was full of compliments, and you know I am a compliment whore, and the last few guys I have dated have been really lacking in that department. He also was super sweet.

So anyway, then on Monday I went on my last and final match.com date. I quit over a month ago, but had been emailing this guy back and forth. Ugh. It was awful and it made me say to myself in the moment, "I am NEVER going on an internet date again." Because it was just one of those things where you are sitting there and immediately you know there is no connection but you have to sit through the date with them and try to make conversation. He was super awkward, just like the last match.com guy I went on like four dates with (he never got any less awkward, and then he blew ME off). Not to mention, this is the second guy I have met from the internet that it turned out we went to high school together. UGH.

So anyway, I came home and called Eliza and she said that the bar owner sent me another missed connection. So here's what he said:

Only a mere moment we shared.
But when i close my eyes i can still smell your scent and can taste your skin on my lips.
You are so beautiful to me.
I think we fit.

YOU + ME = :) HOWS THAT FOR AN EQUATION TEACH!!


Can that be any more sweet/corny/romantic? Even though he barely knows me, there's something about him that makes me feel like he gets me. So I didn't have internet for a long time, but I finally got it working on Thursday and answered and gave him my number. So we have been texting back and forth, and we are going to hang out soon. We'll see how it goes. I still feel weird about the height and age thing, but he is super sweet and I think that's what matters the most. He acts like he thinks I am some goddess or something, which is always good. HA HA.

In other news, I have started going to the gym again (a few times a week, but at least it's something). The gym is so much closer to my house now. I am almost done unpacking. I still have one room full of a ton of boxes, but I think I can get unpacked within a few weeks. I love my condo. It is small and cute and so much more me than my other place. I am all into figuring out how to decorate it, even though I am not very good in that department. I still have to put my pictures up and I have a bunch of pictures I want to order. I really need to go to IKEA again to get things like lamps. My British cat also is loving the new place because he finally gets to go outside.

I went to see Rilo Kiley last night with Eliza. Jenny Lewis is so cute/hot/adorable. I had a lot of fun, but I feel like I am getting kind of old because I get tired out from standing up so long. Lame.

I am thinking of having Chad build me a new computer. My computer is acting all crazy and it would be nice to have a faster one. We have been hanging out once in a while as friends now, and it's nice. I think I am over him now.

Speaking of exes, P has been kind of trying to worm his way into the picture again. I am not going for it because he really hurt me last time. We had a slumber party a while ago and I drunkenly texted him (his friend's girlfriend came because I invited her, which reminded me of him). Anyway, this was after he had drunk texted me a few weeks before, so it wasn't entirely out of the blue. So after that suddenly he thought we were best friends again and has texted or messaged me here and there. He also called me and invited me to go furniture shopping (I didn't answer) and then invited me over for dinner (the text said, "Have you eaten? I'm making fried chicken." Is that the weirded text ever?) Both times I said no, and recently he said he would love to see my new place. I think he's just lonely, but no thanks. I still have feelings for him, but I am not here to make him feel better about himself. If I ever hang out with him it will be something like lunch so there is no chance of us accidentally having sex. Ha ha.

I saw the guy who is moving a few weeks ago, and then he kind of blew me off, which really hurt my feelings. It was really stupid to see him again. I don't know what I was thinking. Oh well. I keep trying to tell myself things like, "There's a reason he's acting like a dick. He's not your person, and he's getting in the way of you meeting your person, so he has to act like a dick so you stay away from him." You know, things like that. I have to have faith that everything is going to work out.

It's nice that I finally met a guy recently the "normal" way. :)

previous - next