current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2008-07-08 - 3:39 p.m.

I'm really worried about money. For quite some time I have lived beyond my means. I either go into my overdraft each month (it's a credit card attached to my account), or I overspend and put it on my credit card. I always pay my bills on time and have great credit, but I am a constant over spender. Then I panic about the fact that my reserve or credit card is getting high, and I pay a lot more than the minimum toward it. Which is good, except then I run out of money before the end of the month, and put money on my credit card again. So it is a losing cycle. I need a realistic budget and I need to stick to it, but I don't seem to be able to do it. I need a good plan. And soon.


I really don't have a lot of room to work with. I am thinking about getting rid of my cable/DVR once the promotion period is over (having to watch TV in real time, though, how awful!), but that doesn't save me that much money. I'm not a coffee drinker, so that whole thing about just not getting your daily coffee is not happening for me. The two main things that I am out of control on are buying clothes (although I really don't do this as much as I used to) and going out with friends and spending money that way. I can't completely cut that out because I will be miserable. The only thing that really makes me happy is hanging out with friends, but I need to figure out a way to make it cheaper. Obviously I don't have to get two mixed drinks when I go out to dinner, but I need to think of more strategies. Maybe have a set limit on how much per week I can spend on going out with friends...but this is REALLY hard during the summer. I have so much free time that my spending is out of control. During the school year I probably go out with friends once or twice a week (and pick up takeout by myself more than that, which is something I could obviously get rid of)...anyway, I need a plan. If anyone has any tips let me know.


Unnecessary trips to Reno aren't really helping matters, but after this I will be putting myself on as strict of a budget as I can handle.


So guess who is in the Bahamas at their destination wedding? Nathan and Scarlett. It's too bad Scarlett turned out to be such a completely different person than I thought she was. It is also too bad that Nathan turned out to be just as bad as I always thought he was. They are a nightmare.


I am so thankful that I will not have to work on the same team as Nathan next year. They moved him to a different team because of the marriage situation--because there was a lot of unprofessional stuff going on...this last year was very difficult, but I think next year will be great. Our new team leader is awesome and I can't wait to work with her.


I just bought a new coffee table (this was before I looked at my finances and realized they were out of control.) It is super cute and modern, but I still need to put it together. I also have a dresser I need to put together. I am done shopping for my new place for a while. There are definitely other things I can use to make it perfect, but I do not have the money and will not for a long time.


Okay, let me end the most boring entry in the history of the world.

previous - next