current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2008-08-14 - 11:33 a.m.

One of my very favorite things is when people start to talk like each other because they are close. When I was at my friend Cassandra's wedding, two of the members of the wedding party were best friends. At the last minute (Cassandra is not one of the most organized people), the bride and groom decided that the wedding party should go into the historic house and then all come out to the reception--sort of like when they announce the bride and groom, but they wanted us to be with them. So everyone was running around gathering the wedding party (everyone was already having cocktails), and Best Friend #1 walked in. "I didn't get the memo!" she said as an apology for being late. A minute later, Best Friend #2 walked in. "I didn't get the memo!" she announced regretfully. Jasmine and I just looked at each other and laughed. I LOVE that. SO MUCH!

At a party the other day I overheard Olivia talking to someone else and she said, "I love/hate it." Which is totally my phrase (which I may have picked up from someone else). It made me happy.

The best is when you don't know who started something. I caught Chad saying, "You're my worst nightmare!" the other day (which is my phrase, but it is originally Cassandra's). But when I said, "TRUE." You know, like Lil' Kim from some song from the 1990s, he insisted that he originated "TRUE."

I have been a nonstop Olympics watching machine. I don't think I have ever been this into it. I do skip over boring stuff, but I am loving the gymnastics, of course. I was so sad for that German kid last night--his name was Fabian. I think he was German. He seemed like such a sweetheart (I like how he kept encouraging the guys from other teams) and then he fell on his high bar. I felt so bad for him. I guess not as bad as that girl Alicia who basically lost the gold medal for the USA, but close.

I did go on a date with the Audrey Hepburn lover. I had fun. He's funny and sweet-seeming, and the conversation went well. I'm not sure if I am attracted to either one of these guys or if the chemistry is there (I've talked about usually knowing immediately, but I'm not sure if that can always be the case--I hope sometimes it happens the second time), but they are both so nice that I will go out with them again. I also have another new date scheduled for Friday. I am least excited about this guy, but maybe I will be pleasantly surprised. He does coach girls' basketball, so I like that. I think he is a DJ of some sort, so I like that a little less.

Today is the boat ride, and it is supposed to be ridiculously hot today and tomorrow. I hope that I don't get heat stroke and die.

Does everyone in the world have an ipod? I don't. I have a small mp3 player that I use for the gym. I also HATE itunes, and I won't even put it on my computer, that is how deep my hatred is for that stupid program. So I don't know...sometimes I want an ipod, too, but they are so expensive. I'm usually about five years behind on that kind of technology anyway, as much as I love computers. I will probably never get an iphone because having internet on my phone would be way too addictive.

Okay...I have to go figure out what to wear. I am trying to find a balance between casual, slutty, and not-dying-from-heatstroke attire. Wish me luck!

previous - next