current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2008-09-05 - 6:26 p.m.

Things with British Boy are going pretty well. The good news is that he does all of the things that I like/want. The bad news is that I think he may not be my "person." His "mum" is in town right now, so I haven't seen him that much lately, but he still calls/texts every day. I actually had to tell him to cut back on the texting because he was going to make me go over my limit for the month! Anyway, I am focusing on the positive and seeing where things go with him...he's sweet, generous, full of compliments, etc. He also sent me flowers which was very unexpected and sweet. AND HE LIKES "FREAKS AND GEEKS"! I made him watch it with me and he wanted to watch even more episodes, so that made me happy.

I am LOVING being back in school right now. I forgot how much I like teaching. We did things entirely different this year and started out on the first day with our homeroom class for the whole day. We are implementing a new behavior plan called PBS which is all about teaching procedures and recognizing kids for doing the right thing with positive, specific feedback (and little tickets they can collect to trade in for prizes--which isn't the part that I like, but whatever). Anyway, we spent the whole first day with our kids (Thursday) so I have one class that I know really well now. There are some squirrely kids in that class, but they are all super NICE non-complainers (at least so far). I loved having them all day and bonding with them so quickly. We are on this crazy modified block schedule which means that with four of our groups of kids we only get to see them every other day, so it takes longer to bond than the classes you see every day. Today we were on a crazy schedule where we saw our homeroom twice and then we met every single group of kids throughout the day. Monday we start our regular schedule.

So the good thing is that in all of the kids I met today, there weren't any kids that stood out as being jerky or negative at all. I did have a few kids who put their head down but they quickly followed directions when I asked them not to. I have some chatty, wiggly kids, but still--super NICE, wanting-to-do-the-right-thing types. Even the kid who put his head down and barely did any work despite me bugging him later started talking to me in a friendly way in the hallway. So I am excited about that. I'm excited about teaching again! I am not excited that my classes all have 31-32 kids. Too many bodies in such a small space (my classroom is very small). I'm used to having less kids, and it will be harder.

I am VERY excited as well about my new teammates. I no longer have to deal with having Nathan on my team. I don't like it that my former friend is now his wife and I have to call her "Mrs. Nathan" now, but I am living with that. I am just thankful I don't have to deal with him much anymore. He is on the other side of the building and has a different lunch period so I barely ever have to see or interact with him. He is just as annoying and inappropriate as ever, but I don't have to deal with him very often. It is AMAZING what a difference having a good team leader can make. For awhile there Nathan would rarely ever tell me logistical changes he had decided at the last minute, and so I always had no idea how we had decided to do something and felt like an idiot. It is so helpful to have an organized person in charge who keeps everyone informed. And, on a personal level, she is a nice person who is fun to be around. Our social studies teacher is now the only male on the team, because our special ed. guy was also moved to a different team, but I think that will be fine. Anyway, overall I am much, much happier with how things are now. Our new special ed. person is going to be way more helpful than our old one was.

I was also happy because I used to teach my classroom procedures in a certain way, and I felt like that got boring and took too long. This year I made it into more of a scavenger hunt/CLOZE activity to make it easier, quicker, more fun, and ELL-friendly, and I did it today and I thought it worked out really well. And even though that is a small thing, I am proud of myself for trying so hard last year and this year to think about how to meet the needs of all my students. I am as good of a teacher as I need to be, but I feel like I am starting to think in a way that will get me there.

In scary news, there are two measures on the Oregon ballot that are horrible--one is to make teachers' salaries based on the state test scores, and the other is to make it so kids will only receive ELL services for two years--you've got two years to learn English and then you are done receiving services. As if the people behind these measures know anything about teaching kids English or how to make teachers "work harder." Ugh.

Speaking of scary, Sarah Palin is my WORST NIGHTMARE. I am praying that whoever these "crazy Hillary fanatics" are that people keep talking about are not IDIOTS. I originally was on board with Hillary, but I switched to being an Obama supporter when I saw how excited he made so many people. He makes me excited. Even when I watched the DNC in the past and was genuinely behind the guys running, I never was really moved by them. I was sitting by myself watching Obama's acceptance speech, and I clapped at the end. Like a complete dork, but that's how excited I was. I really believe that he believes that he can make some changes. I think it's awesome that he said that part about our gay and lesbian brothers and sisters. I like it that he's classy and insulted his opponent in the nicest way possible. I love it that he thinks that talking about other people's children is off-limits. I love it that he seems to REALLY be in love with his wife. I don't agree with everything that he says, but overall I like him. And I like Biden, too.

I don't dislike McCain, but I am frightened by the possibility that Roe Vs. Wade could be overturned. There are some Supreme Court members that are super old and ready to retire, and if we have a Republican president (particularly one who chose a running-mate who opposes abortion even in the case of rape or incest), it is a very real possibility that it could happen. I am also appalled that someone who was a POW is not doing more to ensure that people are not denied their basic civil rights.

I couldn't watch the whole Sarah Palin speech, because it made me want to throw up, but her speech did not make me like her at all. I didn't think that she was a very eloquent speaker, and her whole "I'm a regular mom" thing didn't work for me. I don't care if you're a "hockey mom" who's tough like a pitbull but wears lipstick. And I'm not going to criticize her for leaving her five children (including the poor Down Syndrome tiny one) because I don't think we would criticize her if she was a man doing the same thing, and Obama has two little girls, too. But I don't think that she will be able to be a "regular mom" to them if she is the vice president, let alone if something happened to McCain and she was president. I also just thought she seemed mean-spirited and low with her insults toward Obama.

I was actually kind of excited at first to hear that McCain had chosen a female running mate because it was unexpected. I think maybe he could have pulled it off it he was going for Hillary voters if he chose someone more moderate, but come on? An NRA member, anti-abortion, inexperienced, etc. person? I feel almost insulted as a woman--just chose any woman, and I will vote for her because she is a woman? How stupid does he think we are?

Ok, enough ranting. I have suddenly become really interested in politics and current events, but I don't like to spend too much time talking about it because it gets me too upset.

Enough...I have to go lay down. Because I am sick just in time for the beginning of school. :(

previous - next